We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, green, good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Orchard Garden Hotel
Ranked #22 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have stayed here 3 times, and will come back. Great location, quiet, clean, small rooms. Elevators seem inconsistent, but there are two so when one is down there is another. Minor complaints: bathroom fans are not efficient, and the very comfy comforters are too efficient (we sleep a little too warm, even after turning Dow the thermostat). That said, we will return!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PetalumaKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

We want to thank you for your time to review your experiences. We are pleased to to hear that you have liked the location of our hotel, and found our guest room quiet and clean. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences caused due to the broke down of one guest elevator, and the inefficiency of the bathroom fan during your stay with us. We assured you that we have already addressed and resolved the issues and to prevent these to happen again. We value your patronage and would like to welcoming you back in future.
Sincerely
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

738 - 744 of 1,531 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Likes- location, extremely friendly staff, great service.
Dislikes- had to kill a cockroach in our room!!! Not good
Other than that the bed was comfortable. Room was a little small but great size bathroom! Relatively quiet but did hear some noise at night from the street. All in all not bad but not great!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share about your visit to the Orchard Garden Hotel. Although I’m happy to read you enjoyed a majority of your stay, I sincerely apologize for the short coming you experienced. As soon as we read your comment we asked Ecolab (a company that helps ensure clean, hygienic rooms with a philosophy similar to ours) to come in and give the hotel a head to toe inspection. So far none of the testing has come up positive for any pests.

We value your patronage and I truly hope this does not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Orchard Garden Hotel seemed to have the best value for our 4 night stay in San Francisco in December. The rooms are simple, but are clean and comfortable. It is just steps away from the Chinatown gate, and a couple blocks from Union Square and the cable car lines. The staff at the Orchard Garden Hotel were the most helpful staff I've ever encountered at a hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimmy1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for the very kind review, we appreciate your enthusiastic words. I was delighted to share your comments with the rest of our staff. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of all the attractions in the neighborhood. We hope you visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

i traveled for business and stayed for 5 nights. the room is very clean. the reception and dining is just bland. it wasn't the issue since there's so much to do just outside the door. it's right next to China town and 5 minutes walk to union square. great breakfast and french cafe right in front of the hotel. staff is nice. we got a car service to airport for $50. would definitely go back there again! internet service is free inroom. chargeble minibar is fully stock.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieKayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay. You have liked our location and found it easy and convenient access to all type of sightseeing and activities. We are happy to hear that you will return to stay with us. On your next visit, I would highly recommend you to try our Roots Restaurant which is named San Francisco’s Best Organic Restaurant. Once again, thank you for your time and look forward to welcoming you back to The Orchard Garden Hotel.
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We went to San Francisco for our 5th anniversary. After many hours of research, we decided to stay at the Orchard Garden. What a great choice! The rooms were simple, cozy, clean and comfortable. A clean room is very important to us and we felt very comfortable here! Everyone at the hotel was so friendly and helpful with directions, etc. We also liked that this was an eco-friendly hotel. The location of this hotel could not be better. It was close to Chinatown, transportation, shopping, restaurants, etc. We even walked to Fisherman's Wharf from here. It is a little far but we didn't mind the exercise. We did not eat in the restaurant and most of the time we were there it did not appear to be open. The rooms had some minor wear and tear but that is understandable. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and we will definitely return!

Room Tip: We paid a little extra for the street view so we were not looking out at a brick wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dre521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Congratulations on your five year anniversary. We’re thrilled to hear you decided to stay us during your very special occasion. The comfort of our guests is of high priority to us, so I’m glad that you enjoyed the room. I can’t wait to share your review with the rest of the team, especially housekeeping. We truly appreciate the feedback and kind reviews such as this one make us all smile.

Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The hotel is situated in the heart of union square, a couple of blocks from ALL shopping. The staff was friendly and efficient. The room was nice (10th floor 1012) and spacious (I think because it was a handicap room). There was a connecting door and we did hear a poor soul who drank alittle too much and it was coming back to haunt if you know what I mean. Otherwise it was pretty quiet (even outside noise). I couldn't get the room temperature quite right as it was particularly cold that day. Shower was always hot and beds were decent. I won the overnight stay from a work raffle so a bargain for me:) I think the rate was $229, which for SF is standard, and would say this aligns very much with a Marriott property.

Room Tip: I liked top floor handicap room as it adds more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2012

Thank you so much for the kind review and congratulations on your raffle winning. We’re happy you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the thermostat in your room, the heat is important during these cold winter nights. I did forward the matter to our maintenance department and it has been resolved. We hope you visit us again soon.

Kind regards

Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Very nice boutique hotel, in superb location near Union Square shopping, with very clean and comfortable rooms. The beds were the most comfortable we have enjoyed in a hotel. Will definitely be back for a return stay soon!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_Chesterman_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at Orchard Garden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

We want to thank you for sharing your experiences during your recent stay at the Orchard Garden Hotel. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and you have liked the location of the hotel. As most of our guests are enjoying the benefit of the hotel's convenient location, with easy access to all means of activities and sightseeing. We strive to maintain high standard on our guest rooms and provide our guests the best and consistent services possible. From the Staff and Management of The Orchard Garden Hotel, we wish you a happy holiday. We sincerely hope to see you again soon.
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Orchard Garden Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
2,882 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
2,212 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hote...
#20 of 230 in San Francisco
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#11 of 230 in San Francisco
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Garden Hotel

Address: 466 Bush St, San Francisco, CA 94108-3731
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Chinatown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#16 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#43 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $189 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Orchard Garden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchard Garden Hotel is one of California's first and foremost eco-friendly hotels. Mixing amenities with a dedication to protecting the environment, we invite you relax in utmost comfort with us! The Orchard Garden Hotel is LEED certified, Green Seal Certified, and has earned Trip Advisor's Certificate of Excellence award and gold level for Green Leaders. In addition striving for a 100% non-smoking environment, the Huang Family is committed to maintaining an environmentally friendly and non-toxic environment, as well as a chic and convenient experience. Nestled in the heart of San Francisco, The Orchard Garden Hotel is located near the Financial District, Union Square shops, and many museums and attractions. We invite you to experience a "Tradition of Excellence" at the Orchard Garden Hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Orchard Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Garden San Francisco
Hotel Orchard Garden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing