We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Ways to Experience Cliff House
from $99.00
More Info
from $69.00
More Info
from $145.00
More Info
from $449.00
More Info
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
444 results
Traveler rating
213
156
59
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
213
156
59
12
4
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 444 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2019

I had been to Cliff House many years ago and had fond memories of the place, It was quaint and quirky. So on my last visit I couldn't believe the changes, now its a trendy over priced restaurant where staff are condescending, food is not fabulous and there is no atmosphere what so ever just NOISE!
The views are still good but only if you are lucky enough to sit where you can see them.And the staff hover once you are finished so they can seat the next guests.
I would definitely NOT recommend this restaurant!

Date of experience: April 2019
2  Thank MsWendyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2019 via mobile

Capitalizing on visitors who took the hike at the Lands End and touring Sutro Baths is the Cliff House
Close to visitors center and with a lot of vendors outside it is an OK place to take the breather and use facilities (as they are nice enough without policing only for guests rule...)
One think I have to give them - views from the restaurant (if you are lucky enough to get the table by the window) are spectacular. Once again their clam chowder is fantastic but of course food needs to be good and tasty for the price you are paying ... $$$
AK

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank AndrzejK0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

This was our first visit to the bay area. We heard a lot of good things about this place. We had a wonderful brunch at the Cliff House on a sunny Sunday morning in August. Make sure you book the Brunch and not Lunch because they serve lunch in the same area. We had an excellent view of the Pacific Ocean crashing onto the rocks below. We encountered professional servers who helped with our choices. They displayed a pleasant sense of humor and kept the Champagne flowing. The food was excellent; the Brunch table was impressive and filled with anything you wanted--eggs made to order, Eggs Benedict, steak, buns, abundance of breakfast meat and plenty of lunch items to choose from -all prepared perfectly and the accompanying sides were delicious and fresh. Best of all - the desserts! To Die for! This beautiful spot combined an interesting history with a great location and superb food. Make it a must-see on the list of San Francisco itineraries. Recommended

Date of experience: August 2019
2  Thank Caff06
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019 via mobile

We had a great time watching the surf and hanging out here! There are a couple of decks and just the building being on the cliff is pretty spectacular. We did eat here, and reviewed the restaurant in the places to eat section.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Amy or Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2019 via mobile

Two stars because the view is spectacular. I just had breakfast, three sides, 2 eggs, 6.50, fruit,4.50, and potatoes,4,50, for a total of 15.50. Outrageous. Compounded by the fact that for 1.45 more I could have had the same thing PLUS sausage or bacon. Yes, the popovers are usually good(today they were cold). But certainly the experience and the food does not justify the inflated prices. Walk around and enjoy the view but eat elsewhere.

Date of experience: July 2019
4  Thank lowthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews