We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great food and great atmosphere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terzo

Terzo
Reserve with OpenTable
Terzo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #654 of 5,541 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $21 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Marina District
Cross street: Union Street
Transit: 22 Filmore & 45 Stockton
Description: Terzo, meaning third in Italian, and connoting a third place to gather and share food & wine, was inspired by our travels around the Mediterranean. After running Rose Pistola and Rose's Cafe successfully for years, we wanted to bring an authentic, upscale, European neighborhood restaurant to Cow Hollow. Terzo is a beautiful combination of modern and cozy. Chef/Co-owner, Mark Gordon creates food inspired by the coastal regions around the Mediterranean Sea, sourced from our bountiful local farms and ranches. the menu consistes of daily changing small and large plates, with many vegetarian options. The eclectic and diverse wine list is attractively priced, draws from regions all over the world, and is designed to pair perfectly with the cuisine. Please join us for an exceptional neighborhood dining experience and your private dining needs.
Redwood City, California, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went here for a double date and was very impressed--the small plates were all great and the ambiance of the restaurant was very nice. Definitely recommend it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    14
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Terzo= An Unforgettable Food Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Recently my husband and I were treated to a most amazing meal @ "Terzo". Everything on the " Small Plates" section of the menu was delivered to our table, over the course of the evening, and it was one of the best food experiences that we have ever had. Each dish was absolutely delicious and left us anxiously awaiting the arrival of the next. Not only was it scrumptious ... It was FUN!!! By the way...The wine selection and desserts were equally as impressive and the service was impeccable. So... If you're going to San Francisco... wear some flowers, in your hair, and ... Be sure to reserve a table at Terzo!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrylyn16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just Shy of Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am eating (mostly) vegetarian lately after coming off a child-centric traveling diet that consisted of far too much beef, burgers, and fried things. Now that I am traveling alone, I am making up for it by consciously seeking out restaurants a picky, pizza-loving 11-year old would avoid like the plague.

Thus, I ended up for a late dinner in Terzo, a farm-to-table chef-driven Italian-inspired restaurant that looked promising.

Upon sitting down, I asked for some sparkling water and bourbon - and was denied a bourbon because the restaurant's bar is limited to wine and beer. No problem. The wine-by-the-glass menu was generous and I settled on a Nero d'Avola that was just fine.

A quick glance at the menu showed that there was many vegetarian or mostly-vegetarian options. I opted for two small plates - the hummus (the waiter singled it out) and the panzanella (I'm a sucker for panzanella). I also ordered a half-portion of the hand-pulled pasta.

The pasta was excellent. It was properly al dente, with a mild pesto, tiny but potent tomatoes, and tiny slivers of romano beans (a flat snap bean) cut on the bias.

The panzanella fell short of excellent because of the unnecessary addition of both goat cheese and black olives, which combined tackled and pummeled the brilliant heirloom tomatoes into submission - the cheese and olives added too much brine and pungency to the salad. Still, I ate every scrap, but I wished either the goat cheese or the olives were not in the mix.

Whereas the panzanella swung too far in the pungent direction, the hummus fell completely flat in the opposite way. Lacking any discernible acid to lighten and brighten it, this chickpea paste was overly thick and leaden. The house made pita that came with it were soggy: limp, useless tools for scooping up the "hummus". I optimistically ate less than a third of it until I concluded that no, really, this was a terrible rendition of a very basic dish.

For dessert, I decided to test the kitchen one more time by choosing the simplest dessert: chocolat chaud. This was served in a demitasse and was excellent, almost redeeming the failed hummus. I almost ordered a second cup, but restrained myself. Best to leave happy and almost full.

The restaurant itself was beautiful. The staff was friendly and service was spot-on: not too fast, not too slow.

Booked via OpenTable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claycletrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Had dinner last night with another couple. Our first time there. We were very peasantry surprised as the outside of the restaurant does not reflect the stylish interior. The tapas were very good, especially the hummus and manakish bread, a typical lebanese specialty. The Moroccan chicken was delicious as well as the elbow pasta cooked al dente. The chicken skewers were very tasty, with a strong garlic coriander pesto. Don't skip desert as the warm apple crisp is wonderful. Service was very good, our waiter very knowledgeable about menu items. Valet parking is a real treat, $10 !
Overall, Great experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank papi2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice local place with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

nice bar, good wine, great service. Many small plates for sharing. I keep coming back here. They have one table outside so you can bring your dog (and a jacket).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeterSanFran123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terzo also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Terzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing