We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel, very nice and helpfull staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Twin Peaks Hotel

Twin Peaks Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Twin Peaks Hotel
Ranked #178 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK hotel, very nice and helpfull staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights, and we had a good stay at this hotel. The room was small, but clean and we had our own sink. The shared toilet and shower was also very clean. The hallways smelled kinda bad, but the room didnt. This is a hotel that is cheap, and you get what you pay for. But the helpful staff, the location and price makes me wanna stay again.

Helpful?
3 Thank Mathilde D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    17
    4
    7
See reviews for
Families
0
11
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Recently I was trying to find an affordable stay in SF, never having heard of this property, I decided to call the property days before I arrived in SF. I called a few times, and was told for the special weekend, it was a three day minimum. I did NOT want a 3 day stay. Finally I found what I wanted elsewhere and decided to pop in at TWIN PEAKS HOTEL and look at a room,

Forget about it....the tiny 12 x 12 room, was so small, outdated, claustrophobic and had a window that looked at a wall and another room. NO Bath or commode in the room. NO WAY !!!


This was in no way appropriate for three minutes, much less three days.

So glad I did not give them my credit card for a three day stay !!

BUYER BEWARE !!!


***For the same amount of money, you can stay at a 3-4 star luxury hotel at SFO airport.(only 10 miles away) with a free breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Longbeachmjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

If a shared bathroom is a problem for you don't book this hotel, however you will be missing a little gem of a place for the cost conscious. I saw some rough reviews before booking and they were a worry... But SF is a very expensive city. The rooms are recently refurbished, clean and comfortable. The staff and management charming and helpful. There is no parking, but a funeral parlour up the street (Sullivan's) who will do parking for 20 dollars a day provided that there isn't a funeral on. Great location, close to Castro. I stayed an extra week

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I stayed at the Twin Peaks for 2 nights. I came to check it out before booking a room since I had read some less than stellar reviews. Someone told me the hotel is under new managment now. Everyone at the front desk that I met was SUPER friendly and helpful! My room was small, but had everything I needed (bed, desk, tv, wifi, sink in room). There were a few holes in the duvet cover, but other than that everything was fine. Problem: When I looked out my window (I think I was Room 47), I could see RIGHT into the communal shower! I have no interest in watching people shower, but someone else might, so maybe wear a bathing suit if you don't want ppl to watch you. You can hear noise in the hallway very clearly but it wasn't loud at night at all (I stayed on a Thursday and Friday and my room was in the middle of the hotel). The bathroom and shower room were very clean. Cleaning staff very friendly. Overall not too bad for 80 bucks a night. Right next to the Church St MUNI station which was SO handy!! I also booked an airport transfer which was 15 bucks and came right on time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darcie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I booked the Twin Peaks Hotel when the entire city was sold out due to a citywide convention. The only hotels available were creeping the $400 per day range, AirBnB was no better so I gave Twin Peaks a chance. It turned out to be great but you have to know what to expect. It's not a 3-star hotel but it's not hostel either. While most of the rooms are private, bathrooms are shared -- each floor has two bathrooms and 2 toilet rooms, they're both private but everyone on that floor uses them. I was pretty freaked out about that at first however, the bathrooms were very clean and in my 4 days at the hotel I never once ran into another person trying to use it at the same time. Pack your own shampoo, conditioner, toothpaste and soap because it's not provided (soap is but it's cheap stuff) or walk to the Walgreen's across the street and buy travel sized bottles. The hotel is kind of old and you are really only getting the basics but I didn't plan to spend much time at the hotel. Staff was very nice. Rate was great, $65 per night. The location is amazing, it's technically in Duboce Triangle but the whole time I thought I was in The Castro. It's on Market St., two blocks from Castro Street. The Church Street Muni stop is a few feet from the door and there are a lot of great restaurants, bars and vintage shops nearby. Room 39 smells like cookiedough but it has a great vanity area. I don't think the place is heated so if it's cold, make sure you bring warm pajamas. I work in luxury hotels and my standards are very high but I left this hotel after three nights, very pleased. I'd recommend it to anyone interested in saving some money.

Room Tip: rooms 39 and 49 are larger, 39 smells like cookie dough but the vanity area is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Agustin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you have ever spent any time in Europe, this hotel is for you. The are no thrills. The rooms are small double beds with a shared bathroom (4 of each floor 2 shower rooms/2 toilets) they keep these so clean, I have seen then cleaners in there at least 3 times throughout the day and evening. A few rooms have their own bathroom, if you must have it. I find the gentleman who runs the twin peaks to be very funny and willing to help out with whatever you need. I have stayed their over 30 times in the last 5 years. You cant beat the price $69 a night versus $200+ for any other hotel in SF. LOCATION is what its all about, you can walk out your door and catch the vintage F line which goes all the way from Fishermans Wharf to the Castro (which is about a 7 minute walk) you can also walk to lower haight (5 minutes) upper haight (20 minutes) you can be in the heart of the mission (10 minutes) and 2 minute walk to Church st Muni stop, which can get you anywhere you could ever want to go.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the very end of the hall, they have a great breeze and only neighbors on one side
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

I was going to a car show in Pebble Beach and decided to head up to SF being it so close. I made the mistake of thinking I could just pop in the city and get a hotel. Well the only room I found was $429.00 a night and that was NOT in my budget. So I got on my lap top did some searching and came up with this place. Being Im a "Twin Peaks" tv show fan (No relation) I thought I would check it out. I had stayed at a place years ago like this in San Diego and it was a nightmare, dirty, roaches etc. So I aske to see one of the rooms before I said yes, the staff a little Indian lady and her husband were so nice and helpfull! It is not place to stay with your family, but if your in the city and with friends or your old lady and dont want to pay an arm and a leg for room this place is great! I mean hells bells how can you go wrong with $67.00 a night? The room was clean, and the bathroom I was a little nervous at first, was really clean, and private. They had someone on the floor cleaning all the time. You can walk right out side and catch the F Line Trolly right down to the Wharf! Or rent a bike they will let you store it in your room and ride to the Embarcadero, or wharf. Good stay for me, I have stayed twice now.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hotrodsbydewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Encore Express Hotel
#130 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Layne Hotel
#206 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
The Dakota Hotel
#182 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#157 of 235 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 150 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#141 of 235 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 2,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twin Peaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twin Peaks Hotel

Property: Twin Peaks Hotel
Address: 2160 Market St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1319
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Twin Peaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing