We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great deal for fabulous food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capurro's Restaurant and Bar

Capurro's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #692 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Cross street: Hyde St.
Transit: The F-Line, Polk, Van Ness, and 30 Stockton buses all drop off very near the restaurant.
California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great deal for fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was my first time at Capurro's and was very impressed with the food, ambiance and service. The owner of the restaurant stopped at our table to ask if it was our first time there and said he has seen a lot of new faces because of Groupon.

The Groupon was for soup or salad, roasted crab and a shared dessert. Delicious! We also ordered glasses of wine, and the waiter's suggestion paired well with the meal.

I will definitely be back to this restaurant, especially because they have parking behind the restaurant (which is a plus due to the restaurant's location in San Francisco).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SoulMoonChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    186
    86
    49
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great food, great service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We frequent this restaurant at least 4 times a year and love the food! The location is great, within walking distance of the beginning of the cable car line on Fisherman's Wharf. We were seated right as we entered the door. We had the calamari appetizer, which is amazing. For dinner we had the homemade raviolis and the sand dabs. The food is out of this world! The service was great! We will be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Our group all had the crab and soup special as well as a side of the pasta salad. Every bit of it was delicious.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank jcp001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I'm sorry they can't say "I'm sorry"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Four of us stopped by early on a Friday evening without reservations and were told there was a 40-minute wait, but that they'd call if something opened up. Twenty-five minutes later, we quick-walked back for our meal.

The service was pleasant and efficient until the food was done -- in three trips from the kitchen for four people. The first meal out had cooled. A couple of minutes later, two more meals come out piping hot; and a couple of minutes later, the last meal comes out.

When asked how the meal was, I asked for the owner and explained that one meal was cool and that after our 25-minute wait, we sat down in a half-empty restaurant. The response (almost by way of excuse) was, "We're very busy with with a large party, and they haven't been seated." In an effort to make amends, the restaurant gave us their specialty dessert, which my wife thought was not very good and would not recommend.

The biggest things I missed in the encounter were the words, "I'm sorry," and an offer to re-do the cold meal.

Next time, it will be North Beach for us.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bible_and_rifle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Have to Go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We did a three week tour of the USA and San Francisco was an extra city, however we wondered into this place for a drink and ended up staying for food, not only was the food great, the staff were friendly, helpful and seemed to enjoy their jobs. While we were there the own was also doing the rounds and talked to everyone showing that this is place is great for locals and if not you are made to feel you are! Place to visit for food and friendly welcome.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma1073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capurro's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Capurro's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing