We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inventive Mexican Food in a Fun Setting”

Mamacita Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #467 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Marina District
Cross street: Scott
Transit: Muni: 28, 30, 43, 76.
Los Altos, CA
Level Contributor
190 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Inventive Mexican Food in a Fun Setting”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Mamacita puts some serious food on the plate without taking itself too seriously. Drinks go well beyond the canned margaritas at most spots. Not cheap, but great ingredients and generous pours. Be adventurous. A more than competent guacamole along with very fresh chips went well with the drinks. Like the drinks, the main dishes are not typical. This would be a good place to share the different takes on tacos, enchiladas and the like. The Rancheras (beef brisket enchiladas) were amazing and very rich--in a good way, chicken tacos were presented nicely, but didn't have much going on beyond the obvious, vegetarian tacos were very well done. Service was pleasant and very efficient, just right. No room for dessert, sadly, but they looked interesting too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wazito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    87
    26
    15
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
486 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Wow, this place is LOUD!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

The first thing you notice when this place is busy is that unless you shout, you can't hear people at your table. The walls reflect sound and it's very loud. The food is good, but I don't think it was great. I had their "fabled" carnitas especial, and while the casserole was good, the meat tended to be overcooked. The other dishes our group had were consistently good. Our server was attentive and offered useful suggestions.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Staten_Islander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointing food”
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We went here following a recommendation in our San Francisco guide book. The servers were lovely and the atmosphere was very buzzy with a wide range of interesting cocktails on offer. However the food was, we felt, very poor. We started with the guacamole and chips and we should at this point have cancelled our order. The guacamole had no real bite to it and had a very strange smooth texture. My husband had the pork special and the pork was tough and tasted of nothing but the cooking process and was quite tough, which pork shoulder shouldn't be. I had the chicken tacos and the overwhelming flavour was of the cheese in the tacos, when eaten alone the chicken had no flavour. Very disappointing as we had expected this to be one of the food highlights of our trip.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jelliott86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great cocktails and food”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

There were 5 of us (with a reservation) for dinner. The Pepino Gimlet was the favorite cocktail of the table and each of us had different tacos.

The carne asada (my choice) was delicious. Perfect amount of food to feel satisfied but not too full.

Atmosphere was nice and service was good. I would definitely return on my next trip to SF.

Helpful?
Thank Lindsay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Not your typical mexican”
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Walked by and decided to give it a try by the looks. There was a table ready right away so we didnt hesitate and sat down. Rightaway I was a bit dissapointed with the strange beer selection (not at all mex) so i sticked with just a plain corona. I picked the carnitas especial which was ok although the rice in the fundido didnt do it for me. The pork shoulder was excellent! To american standards you would expect bigger portions. Service a bit slow, but friendly and helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Michiel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamacita Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mamacita Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing