We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but not foe everyone”
Review of Bar Tartine

Bar Tartine
Ranked #668 of 5,738 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Mission District
Cross street: 16th and 17th Streets
Transit: MUNI and BART both stop at Mission and 16th Streets
Elwood, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, but not foe everyone”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

If you are a real foodie, this is a great place. If you are a meat lover, keep going. It was recommended to us by a local friend, we were in town for work. We ordered several different dishes to share which included the beef tartare on flatbread, smoked potatoes, cured salmon, plum soup and lard for the bread. They are known for their bread which was delicious in itself, but we ordered the lard because why not? It was really good, but the beef tartare and the potatoes were crazy. We then had dessert dishes that were okay but nothing special. Great wine paired with our selections. This place is definitely not for everyone, we even left wondering of we were hip enough to eat there. Don't go expecting a lot of meat choices.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank inmomtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    79
    19
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Expect lots of non-meat protein”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Shared the family feast, which, I must admit left me a tad puckish.
Lots of dishes with little fat or protein and my tummy must need that to feel sated.
Not much of their famous bread!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greg t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zofingen
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Bakery in Town”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Always a line up but well worn the wait. Very charming Cafe with a great mix of people. Moste delicious desserts and coffee

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Yech”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We wandered in and were intrigued by the simple lunch menu. The bread was excellent and kefir butter was excellent so we looked forward to a good meal. We had the cold stone soup which was a bad borscht, we had the special sandwich which was inedible and we had something else which escapes my mind but was of the same overdone flavor of beets and raw onions. The sprouted chickpea and beet spread had hard inedible chick peas mixed into a tasty mash. Maybe this was just their lunch and dinners might be great but will never go back to find out.. We did take a loaf of bread home.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank loveandpeace47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent birthday dinner”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My family took me to this delicious restaurant and we gave it the universal tick of approval. Service was attentive and very knowledgeable. The menu was interesting and we could've chosen
any dish - we opted for the set selection for the four of us- and loved it. The bread was great - always a measure of excellence! The wine list is terrific - we handed he task to the waiter - and he delivered with a superb sparkling Riesling from Austria.

Great coffee too- proper coffee.

This is a great place to eat!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DVaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Tartine also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Bar Tartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing