We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little morsels of food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bar Tartine

Bar Tartine
Ranked #569 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Mission District
Cross street: 16th and 17th Streets
Transit: MUNI and BART both stop at Mission and 16th Streets
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
236 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great little morsels of food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Sat at the bar since all tables were booked. But the cooking made up for it. Of course wonderful sourdough bread, and many little dishes that were truely tasty.. good service also and reasonably priced. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nikolai69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    78
    19
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm & welcoming brunch spot in the Mission!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Bar Tartine was wonderfully delicious in a welcoming spot in the Mission. We split the Everything Sandwich, a hearty two-hander on freshly baked and toasted bread filled with lox, fancy cream cheese (quark), crisp lettuce, capers, fresh tomato and herbs.

Drinks: beet Mimosa and a Prickly Pear punch cocktail.

My husband is one of the only people I know who picks a cocktail off a menu even when he does not recognize any of the multi-syllable ingredients. He sees the word “punch” and thinks a sweet pear-flavored party drink. Not so with this prickly pear concoction. As I am quickly drinking my bright, pink, refreshing Mimosa, he grimaces after one gulp of his pale orange brew:

“Tastes like a moldy pillow that’s been in a basement for six months.”

Because he had a cold, I did not try The Moldy Pillow cocktail—however, as I glanced over his shoulder, towards the bar, I believe saw a waitress toss the very same drink down the bar sink.

Great spot. I would love to go back for dinner!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karendor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun delicious meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Loved this place. Healthy innovative menu. Atmosphere lively and fun. Seemed very trendy and hipster, which was fine by me.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank WonderGirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good and different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I liked the way the restaurant looked, the food was good and different.
To me, foreigner, this is very 'San Francisco'.
Organic, trendy, laidback, good...
Not overly priced either.
Good place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RMC0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“truly an experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Reserved a table based upon reviews I read.
When my wife and I saw the menu, we had second thoughts it was unusual combinations and dishes.
Since we were already there we ordered based upon the recommendation of our waitress.
We were extremely happy we did.
The food was excellent,
If you are willing to try something a little off the usual. you will have a great experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank arubalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Tartine also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Bar Tartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing