We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place and atmosphere. Terrible food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bar Tartine

Bar Tartine
Ranked #545 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Mission District
Cross street: 16th and 17th Streets
Transit: MUNI and BART both stop at Mission and 16th Streets
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good place and atmosphere. Terrible food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2012

The place is very nice and the atmosphere perfect, but the food very bad. I like different tastes but it was bad, sometimes is better to keep simple not to do bad.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ropires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    78
    19
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
499 reviews
350 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Foie Gras Paninis!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Outrageously rich and yummy Foie Gras Panini.
Delicious charcuterie platter complete with pork rillette bone marrow, pate, parsnips on grilled toasts.

- Charcuterie platter: Decadently smooth, rich and buttery bone marrow, served in the marrow with a small spoon for scooping onto the toast. The pate was good, but the star was definitely the marrow for me

- Sonoma Foie Gras with raspberry jam on broiche panini, served with shoestring fries per my request (instead of salad):
Wow. Very buttery, tasty and generous with the foie gras. Loved every bite of it....except that it was VERY rich and i really wished that we didn't BOTH get the same dish (!!!!) Would have been nice to just have half of the panini and half of another dish...but it was Great

- Morning Bun: Would have been MUCH better if it was warm. Cinnamony with a hint of orange

- Cranberry Prosecco Aperetif: Subtle hint of cranberries.

Nice ambience.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank jocelynlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of my all Food & wine experiences!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Everything was perfect, from being seated to getting the bill! The staffs knowledge, hospitality & friendliness was the first thing that hit me, then the ambiance & the the uber sexy beetroot, rocket & horseradish salad was the finale slam dunk!!!!! I didn't have a clue about the wines and told my server this he quickly helped me with perfect recommendations..... This place is bliss!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hip family Brunch. I ordered the Eggs Benedict. The flavors were delicious except for the dill which seemed to be the odd note. I even enjoyed the rye bread under the perfectly cooked eggs. The Baked egg was beautiful and delicious to eat creamy with tomato and will be the next thing I order.
A brunch is not a brunch without Bloody Mary's and Bar Tartine only serves beer and wine. The beers are microbrews and noteworthy as long as you can adjust the Sunday brunch palette.
The atmosphere is relaxed and we were able to carry on a conversation without shouting. Wait staff was efficient and not hovering.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thekoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Excellent Food - with service caveats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

The good part: the food is really tasty, croissants are exquisite. The not so good part: went on a Sunday morning and had to wait 35 minutes in line to get to be able to place an order. The place is very popular with locals, and friendly staff has trouble keeping the few tables clean. Their famous bread is only available after 5pm. Recommendable if there is no long line stretching through the door.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank usuallyhappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Tartine also viewed

San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Bar Tartine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing