We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good for budget travellers but not the nicest area” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Europa Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Europa Hostel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for budget travellers but not the nicest area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

A friend and I stayed here on a budget trip around Western America. After reading a few bad reviews we didn't expect too much. Our experience seems better than what I have read so far. Walking to the hostel I felt very un-easy, especially after leaving the clean and tidy Fisherman's Wharf. 6th Street is not a street I would like to walk during the night. The bloke running the hostel was very friendly and helped us with directions (this might of been because we paid him $5 each to leave our luggage with him as we arrived at midday and check in time was 3pm and didn't fancy walking around San Fran with a backpack on). We had a twin room which was fine for one night and it was reasonally priced. Wifi available. Next time I would pay a little extra to not walk around Downtown San Fran at night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    12
    7
    21
See reviews for
8
11
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paranaque, Philippines
Level Contributor
210 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was actually just looking for a place to leave our stuff while we did our touristy San Francisco things. That's exactly what it was. It is not the kind of place where one would like to linger. The beds are comfortable enough so we were able to get good nights' sleeps (or maybe we were just really tired from walking). As it is a hostel, the bathroom is shared. It was clean but had no mirrors or a table to put down one's things. The locks on the bathroom doors did need changing.

The place is clean but the corridors are narrow. There is no elevator so big suitcases became a problem. It is not that near to the touristy places and that's why I think they can offer their rooms at this low price. Wifi is free. The manager was very nice and quite helpful. Would I stay again? Probably not. There are many other places I can try.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purplepinay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in the hostel for 2 nights with my friend few weeks ago. The building is old and so are the rooms, but we had two very big beds in double room and the room was clean and spacious. The only thing disturbing us was the fact there was no mirror in the room (or shared bathroom)- a bit of a problem for girls at least. The hostel only offers shared bathrooms, there are 2 showers and 2 toilets. Not too clean anyway, but acceptable with using some flipflops for the shower. We had no problems with having to wait for the bathroom but its also true that we were usually quite early (around 7pm). The location of the hostel is great, only few minutes away from the market street with all possible transportation available. Also some smaller supermarkets near.. but what makes this hostel great is the owner (or at least I think he was) Carlos,which is a great source of information. Right after arriving he gave us a map and told us everything we needed to know and also was available for any questions...honestly great man! Also they offer suitcase storage for 5usd regardless the number of items. Would recommend!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank janakovac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

This hostel was awful. The bathrooms are terrible and unhygienic. The rooms are the worst I've ever slept in. I'm surprised If the hotel passes building inspection with the angle of the doors and walls. I would advise paying a little more and not staying here

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Sundsvall
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

At this place you get value for your money. It's near the Union Square and it's easy to take the train from the Airport. You can email the hostel and they tell you everything. The room was small, but cozy with a big old tv that worked.
The staff were nice.

The block is full of homeless and stoned people and there's actually a soupkitchen next to the hostel.

Depending on the money, the location is great though and near to everyting. Here's a pic of the room http://beammedown.blogg.se/2013/november/if-youre-going-to-san-francisco-be-sure-to-wear-some-flowers-in-your-hair.html

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthonia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Encore Express Hotel
#127 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#129 of 230 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Orange Village Hostel
#16 of 50 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Winsor Hotel
Winsor Hotel
#38 of 71 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Financial District
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
Pacific Tradewinds Hostel
#1 of 50 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
SoMa
Desmond Hotel
Desmond Hotel
#41 of 71 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hostel

Property: Europa Hostel
Address: 226 6th St, b/t Tehama St & Clementina St in SoMa, San Francisco, CA 94103-4012
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 50 Specialty Lodging in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Europa Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Europa Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing