We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding San Francisco Treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Range - CLOSED

Range
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Mission District
Cross street: 19th St & 20th St.
Transit: Muni #14, #26, BART: 16th and 24th stops
chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding San Francisco Treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

This small restaurant had it all! A terrific staff that was attentive and directed us to a sensational bottle of wine to go along with our diverse food needs. The food was carefully prepared with beautiful attention to detail and some of the most refined and delicate flavorings I have sampled. A simple Halibut was elevated to mind-blowing level by addition of lemon grass broth, and rice crisps. The chicken mousse was similarly terrific. Lastly, the duck was divine! The chef is a genius! Thank you for making this a highlight of our California trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank painterg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    56
    16
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Most Inventive fresh food in SF”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Rotating menu of seasonal items sprinkled with a few staples is always surprising and delicious - from Carnivores to Herbivores to Oenophiles everyone we have ever taken to Range has raved for days - in a world of over the top flavor, the nuanced flavors of every dish and carefully curated wine and drink menu at Range is a foodie's delight.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

A great menu and well priced. Highly recommend booking early as it was very busy. Located in the Mission area and well worth a visit.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank kmans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delightful small bistro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We ate at Range with friends on a Sunday evening. Our meals were delicious. A duck on the menu the night we were there and a salad with nectarines were particular stand outs. Service was friendly, attentive and very fast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorilander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Never a bad meal at Range”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I love Range. It is my local go to restaurant in the Mission area. The food and service is always good. And the prices are decent. I have gone to many other more expensive restaurants and been less impressed and I always come back to Range. I eat at this restaurant at least once every couple of months and considering all the other great restaurants in San Francisco, this is saying alot. If I am alone or with my partner and the place is full, we just sit at the bar where one can get served with a meal. Watching the bartenders at work is fascinating. There are a ton of restaurants on Valencia street but Range has been there a long time and continues to put out good quality meals.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SFjazzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Range also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing