We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salmon!”
Review of Sauce

Sauce
Reserve with OpenTable
Sauce is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #482 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Hayes Valley
Cross street: Oak and Page
Transit: BART: Civic Center station; Muni Metro: Van Ness; Muni Market Street Trolley 'F' Line: Gough St.; Muni Bus Stop: 6,7,66,71
Description: At Sauce: Gough we serve what we like to call "Social Cuisine" - American comfort fare so good you'll want everyone at the table to try a bite. It's shared food without the tiny plates. Come sample Chef Ben's creations along with some drinks in the intimate Supper Club; cozy up to the beautiful redwood bar for a signature cocktail; or, enjoy a meal in the bustling main dining room. Experience what happens when Comfort Food meets California Cuisine — it could be our Tomato Bisque with white truffle grilled cheese sticks; Portobello mushroom fries; or our signature applewood-smoked-bacon wrapped meatloaf, something is sure to tickle your fancy. Located just a few blocks from the civic center in Hayes Valley, Sauce: Gough is the welcoming result of three partners' desire to create a comfortable spot for drinking and dining. Pre-Show, post-show and for all your private events Sauce is the place. Stop by for dinner any night between 5pm and Midnight and see for yourself; what’s cooking
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
“Salmon!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I visited San Francisco about once a year. And last time when I was there I got the recommendation from local people to go to this place. I'm glad I came. I love the salmon came with spinach & bacon salad. It was so tasty. I will be back again when I visit SF.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    46
    13
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Solothurn, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Insidertip in San Fransisco”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

I ate dinner at "sauce, drink. eat. sleep" and it was awesome!
The service was very friendly and answerd every question we had.
We started with a delicious corn, tomatoe and onion salad.
For the entree I enjoyed a Baised beef short rib with a garlic& white wine sauce, spinach and Yukon gold scalloped potato. It was out of this world. Every ingredient was fresh prepared and you could really tast it.
I recomend this gourmet restaurant to everybody! You really have to try this out!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samuelsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

stumbled on this place on my first night in san fran. busy but managed to get a table. had a smaller portion of chilli as a starter. husband had clam chowder, which was some of the best outside new england. very impressed with the first course. vegetable strudel followed, which was delicious. asparagus, mushroom in tomato sauce. husband had chicken with green beans and potato which was juicy and cooked to perfection. the staff were lovely too. the only thing is, it is a little pricey, but the quality is high and a lot of it is organic and local.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank owlbeonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Always a Great Meal”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

If you appreciate a comfort food menu, then you will be delighted by Sauce. You must be in the mood for carbo loading, calorie ignoring dining. But, with those stipulations, bring your appetite. Sauce delivers big time.

I've had the fried chicken before, so last night we just did a lot of small plates. Our selection included:

1. mini meat loafs (little slider sized tasty meat loafs stacked on piles of whipped potatoes and gravy). Gosh.
2. Crab wontons -- light and fluffy with a fruity dipping sauce. I'd rather have six than four -- you'll want this one all to yourself.
3. fried calamari and artichoke hearts with a spicy lemon aioli. This is the perfect presentation of this common dish, with the addition of scrumptious little chunks of breaded artichoke hearts and aioli the way it should be -- rich and flavorful without overpowering the fried food (listen up, Corner Room!).
4. mac and cheese with ham hocks -- in the cutest little glass pyrex servicing dish. Presentation matters! See #6
5. A corn and heirloom tomato salad -- smaller than I'd like but just packed full of flavor. See #6.
6. Died and gone to Sauce: A bowl of brown sugar glazed bacon in big 1/4 strip hunks -- warm and crispy and sweet and salty. We crumbled this up (or not) and tossed it all over our salads and our mac and cheese -- there was plenty for two of us, although don't be embarrassed to order this just for yourself. You're worth it.

We did not have time to get to the dessert menu and, frankly, that was our server's fault. She disappeared from our area for up to 15 minutes at a time -- we would have signaled and definitely ordered dessert, but we had a show at 8 and we would have felt too rushed by the time she got around to concluding our main courses.

This is a great location in the hot Hayes Valley food scene where there is loads of competition. Sauce is just slightly off the main strip but a super easy location to park and stroll to anything in the performing arts/civic center district, then easy on the 101 connector at Octavia if you are coming in from out of town/burbs. Prices are reasonable for the City and they have a great bar and wine list. Desserts rock, too, which is why it was disappointing to miss them this time around.

Just up the street is RICH TABLE. We worshiped our one meal there and now are trying to plan the months in advance required to get in. Sauce has been around awhile so it's a bit easier to connect with.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Tried the tasting menu”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were staying at Sleep Over Sauce upstairs, so one night we had dinner and drinks downstairs. They had a tasting menu offer on so we had that and it was delicious. Great service, good drinks.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sauce also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Sauce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing