We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The St. Regis San Francisco
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$395
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$338
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$217
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
$317
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$239
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$245
$208
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$279
$237
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$469
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$215
$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,389)
Filter reviews
1,389 results
Traveler rating
942
280
95
47
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
942
280
95
47
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler servicemetropolitan suiteame restaurantroom serviceblackout shadesfour seasonsmuseum of modern arthouse carrain showerlobby baryerba buena gardenssoaking tubturn down serviceindoor poolcloset spaceluxury hotelmoscone center
Filter
Updating list...
1,223 - 1,228 of 1,389 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2007

Our recent trip to San Francisco Aug.31-Sept.3 Labor Day weekend was fantastic.The hotel is very understated from the outside, but once inside it is minimalistic , contemporary and very fashionable.Very much my taste.The check in was swift and butler shows you to your room.We booked 1017-1018 adjoining rooms by one master door but still able to close individual doors for privacy.One was a Metropolitan Suite and the other a regular room.Great If you go with kids or my case a Mother-in-law.Very quiet room, never heard any noise or even saw a single person in the hallways for 4 days.However ,like the post before,the sirens(from fire station) are a little much and over the holiday weekend there were alot of alarms.The rooms were clean,stylish and comfortable.A couple of missed items were:no washcloths left each day after room cleaned.Had to call for them.No problem as they were delivered right away.One sink in master bathroom drained really slow( if at all) sometimes. Only one remote worked,batteries changed and still didnt work. Small problems,but for this hotel things should be pitch perfect.We went to go out for dinner one evening and ask the valet to hail a cab for us and he got the house car brought around and had John the driver take us to dinner in the St.Regis Bentley.Awesome ride and an incredible touch of class.The lounge is a great place to have an after dinner drink and sit by the wall with fire .Very comfortable.The young ladies that delivered drinks were well trained in customer service and presentation.Being in a service oriented hometown one can appreciate a city that believes in customer service and treats guests well every where we went.I love the hotel and will stay here always.Also-I fell in love with some features from our room, and upon checkout ask about them.Within 5 minutes a full page of suppliers with names of colors,styles and phone numbers was delivered to me.Its not about how tall you are standing on your wallet,but rather find what type of place makes you happy and this hotel as it all.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Star2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2007

Well, this was a disappointment. Booked the St. Regis, on 3rd Street and Mission in San Francisco for a night away from the kids for our anniversary.

What went well:
-Great service
-Wonderful location
-Ame, the restaurant, has surprising and delicious food in a quiet enough room that adults can talk!
-Style, style, style in the public rooms, in the room decoration, in the bathroom design...
-Neat views overlooking the Yerba Buena complex
-Enthralling use of gratuitous touch screen technology to control the drapes, shades, lights, wakeup and phone
-Good damping of REGULAR traffic noise from 3rd Street
-Stylish, beautiful people drifting through the lobby; makes it exciting to check-in and sit for a drink.
-Heard little or nothing from any of the rooms around us or from the hallway during our stay.

What was puzzling and not so good:
-The San Francisco Fire Department's Station 1 is located around the corner at 676 Howard St./3rd St. Would you like to guess how many times they went out on Friday night? 6! Would you like to guess how clearly you can hear the sirens of the pumper and the ladder truck? Ah, very, very clearly indeed, even from a high, high room...I think the acoustician on this hotel job must have underestimated the impact of that station. Whoa.
If I had an important meeting the next meeting and didn't have any ear plugs...Not so good.

BTW, I would be cautious of book the W hotel on the corner of 3rd and Howard for the same reason; it might be even LOUDER because it's even closer.

Hope this helps someone pick a quieter property....

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ATravelingFamilyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2007

The rooms are huge with high ceilings and top contemporary furnishings. Overall the rooms and the hotel is comfortable, spacious and a destination you won't want to leave. I preferred it to the four seasons but both are exceptional

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bostonguy505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2007

stayed at a st. regis property for the first time. I could not have been happier with the experience. Location of the hotel was great for walking to union square and was less than a mile from att park where the sf giants play. From the moment my wife and i entered we were treated five star. Butler was well spoken and very informative and the concierge helped us with all our traveling needs in the area.

The rooms were the nicest i have stayed in at any hotel. I travel alot all over the u.s. and for me these took top marks. Very modern rooms with 42 plasma tv. The bathrooms were large with separate shower and toilet from the main bathroom. The bed was comfortable with plush linens.

Great experience, this is where I am staying next time I am in town.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kliz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2007

stayed at the st regis for 4 nights in early august. stayed in a suite (astor) which was pretty small even by US hotel standards and really wasn't anything special - i was on the 15th floor and so no view either. hotel bar was actually really great - good atmosphere and the bar staff were great. the spa was fabulous - great treatments and really cool setting. only had room service (breakfast) but it was efficient if not the best food. the concierge (always something i focus on!) desk was pretty useless - couldn't get tickets for a show that wasn't exactly the hotest ticket in town; booked a restaurant for us that was a really dull local italian with nothing special about it - could have been anywhere in the world and the food was average (i asked for somewhere not too fancy but not too casual that had great food and was typically californian......the place they booked was nothing like this AND when we arrived they didn't actually have our reservation!). directions to places were given reluctantly and there was always a queue. they suggested i take a taxi to the hairdressers which was a 3 minute walk away....! overall, ok hotel, nothing special and wouldn't go back

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gascony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews