We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$468
$468
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Brb8784
Portland, Oregon
Ohhhh the comforts and elegance and serenity, do enjoy them... room 1104.
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 7, 2019
My best friend and I stayed at this lovely establishment for her birthday weekend. What a treat! That level if service and attention to detail and service excellence is quite an experience to be had in one's lifetime.
The beds and linen were so incredibly comfortable and inviting. I am a bonafied pillow snob and allll of the pillows passed muster! And electric controls for the blinds??? Yes please!
The bench shower seat with the rain shower was a dream! It was so nice to have both options of the rain shower head and the hand held shower. I didn't partake in the deep, well appointed tub. Next time! Towels were oh so plush and replaced multiple times by very attentive house services.
We both slept soundly and I have excellent hearing and only heard a door closing twice in our three nights stay. So quiet and calm.
Room service for breakfast was a delight. The fresh squeezed OJ and brioche french toast is a must however ask for extra chantilly cream; you'll thank me!
The car, doorman, concierge, room and butler services were incredibly helpful as were any staff we encountered.
My only encounter that turned a frown was from the tall, dark haired waiter working in the bar during a Friday afternoon. We were pratically ignored upon arrival with no greeting nor acknowledgement for quite sometime. Then argued that they didn't have my friend's choice of liquor brand for her gimlet until she finally advised him that she'd had it there the prior evening. He finally checked and gyess what?? Shocker!! They did have it on hand! Ugh. A short time later he fell all over himself attending to another table with two women with kids who came in well after we had.
Quite off putting and well outside the excellent service and reputation this establishment strives for.
If you have the opportunity, Id doubt your choice to stay at the St Regis will disappoint.
Date of stay: July 2019
Nearby Hotels
0.4 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
1.6 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Fitness center
0.4 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.6 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Pool
Beachfront
Marker Hotel Suite B
0.6 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
0.4 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Free Wifi
Pool
0.1 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
0.6 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.5 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in San Francisco
Reviews (1,624)
Filter reviews
1,624 results
Traveler rating
1,094
307
116
63
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,094
307
116
63
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler service astor suite room service blackout shades soaking tub lobby bar four seasons yerba buena gardens house car moscone center union square car service in room dining corner room high floor market street concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 1,624 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2019

The service in this hotel was excellent, from front desk to in-room dining to housekeeping. Fast, efficient, gracious.

Room was very nice though bathroom in need of modernizing. Toilet old and leaky and sink faucets don't have enough power so water just trickles out. Window shades tattered and shabby.

Date of stay: August 2019
3  Thank T1313XFcarolc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 5, 2019

Fantastic location and luxury inside. Staff very friendly and helpful. A great place for an art lover - original pieces displayed in the rooms. Gym and pool are 24/7 which is great for helping to beat jet lag. Overall fantastic but 4 stars from me. I was surprised that the hotel did only offered free WiFi in the lobby and charged $15 for access in the room. As non business traveler from Europe I found it excessive. I was also charged $8 for a one minute call to Lo’s Angeles. In the current time and age I found the two charges excessive, especially for a luxury hotel.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank Magdalena F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 3, 2019 via mobile

As we were on vacation a few days we decided to splurge, paying one of higher room rates we've ever paid.

Everything is (almost) 5 star (missing jacuzzi, sauna), except one minor element for a hotel: the bed.

For a couple and two kids we had 2 "double" beds. As we arrived late we had no desire to move rooms late.

We were told when checking out that regardless, the hotel only offers double beds.

When I pay a premium for a 5 star hotel, I expect at least a queen and more king beds.

I have not had for a couple a double bed in at least a decade. One cant turn over without bumping your partner.

Quite sad when they cant get the core component of a 5 star hotel right, and with that price.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank MikionVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andre B, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2019

Dear MikionVacation,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco.
I sincerely apologize for your experience at our hotel on your vacation with your family, and encourage you to contact me directly to further discuss your visit.

Sincerely,
Sammi Mowatt
Director of Front Office 415-284-4000

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2019

great team of people with excellent service. In-room dining was the best. I've stayed at the hotel several times and they are consistently excellent. Highly recommend!
note: there's some construction going on nearby, but it has gotten less noisy recently.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bizconsultant341
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 26, 2019

In December, we had another stay at the lovely St Regis Hotel, at Mission & 3rd Streets in the SoMa District (South of Market) of San Francisco. Like most stays recently, this was but a brief business trip, and we flew in from meetings in Chicago, for only three nights. Due to a meeting being added, we did have to move from the St Regis, due to their being filled for the last night, but we still had an excellent stay.

We had room 1003, which overlooked 3rd St, but was high enough that we heard no street noise, and not even noise from the Moscone Convention Center construction, just across from the hotel.

Check-in was great, and our room was ready, when we arrived. And speaking of “arrival,” the staff at the St Regis makes you feel that you have just returned from a stay the week before, when it had been over 3 months, since our last stay. The doorman knew our names, as did the reservations agent. Both greeted us warmly. Now, this was probably our 12th stay, and we visit their spa, and the lobby bar, plus dine at their lobby restaurant, even when staying elsewhere, so it is not like we are strangers.

Room 1003 was very comfortable, with a King bed (very nice sleeping), a desk, small sitting area and a built-in “wall unit” with closets, drawers, a mini-bar and a large flat-screen TV. The separate bathroom has both a walk-in shower, and a soaking tub. The shower had more than adequate water pressure, and hot water. The toilet is behind a frosted glass door. The bathroom had a single sink, but in a large vanity, so that one has plenty of horizontal space, with several small drawers and under-counter storage. Like many of the St Regis properties, it also came equipped with a full compliment of the Remède Spa amenities, and plush St. Regis towels. We had a hair dryer, which functioned well. There is one little “oddity” in the bathroom arrangement with many of the St. Regis San Francisco rooms, and 1003 had that – in that there is a window over the soaking tub, which opens into the bedroom When closed, the light from the bathroom does not intrude into the bedroom, but some noise might. When opened, the bathroom is filled with the light from the bedroom (especially if the blackout curtains are open), which brightens up the bathroom greatly. In general, the bathroom lighting is adequate, and there is a lighted vanity mirror on the wall.

While the closet space is small, and as we had been on the road for several days, it did get rather jammed. This closet space was as close to a complaint, as I can come. There was a horizontal safe, and iron & ironing board, and then an additional tray of more amenities. We had two plush terry bathrobes and then slippers, which came out, along with the amenity tray, during the turndown service. The St. Regis includes complementary overnight shoeshine services, which I took advantage of, during this stay.

The mini-bar seemed well-stocked, but we did not use it.

We had adequate AC outlets and USB ports, to charge all of our devices, and enough flat surfaces, that nothing had to hang from a wall outlet, or be placed on the floor.

Our two windows had both sheers and blackout curtains, in a “Roman shade” configuration, and those are actuated by wall switches near the bed. Those worked perfectly. The “Do Not Disturb” sign is actuated by a switch, near the door. There is also a signal to “Make Up My Room,” but I did not use that, on our short stay.

The hotel is very well-located, near the Moscone Center, and just a few short blocks from the transportation corridor, Market Street.

The lobby bar, and the lobby restaurant are quite good, and we enjoyed both on this stay. The same can be said for the Spa, with its indoor swimming pool. We also used the complimentary sedan for dining one evening. I am not certain, but think that it covers a 3 mile radius from the St Regis, and while it is “first-come, first-served,” we have never had trouble using it.

Though short, this was a very nice stay, and we are booked at this St Regis twice in 2019 already.

Room tip: Room 1003 was very nice, and quiet
Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank The_Loup_Garou
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews