We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$1,166
Booking.com
Hotels.com
$1,166
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Todd S
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Excellent hotel, consistent for a St. Regis
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 19, 2019
The rooms are a little on the smaller side, and our toilet seemed to be leaking a small amount of moisture onto the tiles immediately surrounding it. Otherwise, this hotel was excellent and more than worthy of its St. Regis designation—top notch service, an unbeatable location, and fantastic amenities. Definitely on the pricier side (as are most high-end SF hotels), but more than worth the money if you're looking for a luxurious stay!
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
0.4 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
0.4 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.6 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Fitness center
Marker Hotel Suite B
0.6 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Heated Outdoor Pool
0.4 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Free Wifi
Pool
1.6 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Pool
Beachfront
Regency Lounge
0.1 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
0.6 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.5 miles from The St. Regis San Francisco
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in San Francisco
Reviews (1,624)
Filter reviews
1,624 results
Traveler rating
1,094
307
116
63
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,094
307
116
63
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler service astor suite room service blackout shades soaking tub lobby bar four seasons yerba buena gardens house car moscone center union square car service in room dining corner room high floor market street concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 1,624 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and my expectations were exceeded. Hotel building itself is nothing grand yet the rooms are superbly equipped

Beyond the luxury, it’s the service defines this place and it’s not often that you encounter service that genuinely surprises, and and that’s what you get at this hotel

Bravo

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 11, 2019

We stayed here for a quick trip for my birthday and the St Regis exceeded all of my expectations. We arrived late and in the rain, with a late reservation so we hoped to get into our room quickly to drop our things and head out again. Our first room had someone else's things in it but the hotel staff did everything they could to accommodate us and upgraded us to a spectacular suite AND comp'd drinks and food in the hotel lounge! The room was stunning as was the view. I can't wait to stay here again!

Date of stay: February 2019
2  Thank Nicole P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

Having travelled and stayed at premium hotels all over the world you can destinguish the wannabe hotels who simply rest on their established name and their pretty rooms, to the hotels where truly exceptional service is part of its lifeblood and culture. Unfortunately this hotel is the former and not the latter--its really just a pretty face. I judge the top tier hotels not by clean sheets and a soft pillow, (any 3 star can deliver that), but rather what they do to go above and beyond to provide a little extra if circumstances require it. My situation was simply this: I showed up at the bar to get a meal after a long day at 9:31 and was told the kitchen closed at 9:30. So I asked: "well its not that late could they make a small exception". Nope. "Order room service" I was told. Now granted 9:30 might be a little late to request food if I was in some one light town in Wisconsin, but I'm in downtown San Francisco at presumably one of the most nicest hotels in the country two minutes after the kitchen supposedly closed. Nope "order room service". I've been at roadside diners that made more of an effort. Anyway my bad for being late. Next time I'll stay place that isn't just a pretty face and has my back. You road warriors out there know what I'm talking about.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
2  Thank stevelO9073XV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andre B, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Dear stevelO9073XV,

I sincerely apologize for your recent experience at The St. Regis San Francisco, and the associated inconveniences that affected your stay with us. This experience is not indicative for our hotel and I apologize for the impact this had. We regret that we were unable to provide you with a five-star visit. I would be more than happy to discuss further. Please let us know if you will be joining us in the city, I would love to personally welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Zakia Alameri
Food & Beverage Manager
415.284.2875


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

I loved the location of this hotel, close to the museum and in a walkable distance to Union Square. The room were small, but in San Francisco I would say is a norm. However enough for a little desk, a sofa and cozy living room. I enjoyed the postcards of the hotel and the delicate stationery that you can use, if you decide to send a letter from there. Lovely service if you have any question downstairs they guide you with courtesy and kindness.
I enjoyed their breakfast option, fresh and delicious. At night people go to the lounge to get some drinks. Look like a popular place to hang out, I didn’t drink any then I can not advise about it, but I enjoyed the ambiance since it make you feel part of a city that has as many options during the day that at night. I recommend it.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

This hotel is a beautiful facility, modern, clean, and very well designed. We were overwhelmed by the quality of service provided by all staff members. It is this service level, unsurpassed in my travel experience, which separates this St Regis from others.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank R6099FLdavidv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews