We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The St. Regis San Francisco
Ranked #8 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    261
    91
    42
    24
See reviews for
206
436
81
387
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2006

be careful when signing the receipt at the St Regis spa Remede.... they slam an automatic 20% tip onto any fees... they don't suggest... they just add it....WHAM!!

This option should be open on the receipt for the customer to add at will.... kind of a crass bit on their part at the end of the experience.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank hastababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 20, 2006

The color choices of this new luxury hotel are fabulous, as is their art collection. It is 1/2 block from the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, and we chose a package that included free tickets. The hotel is also a 20 minute walk from the new attraction -- the Ferry Building -- with its many food shops and restaurants.

My small complaints? When we arrived mid-morning and I asked where I could get a cappuccino I was directed outside to a nearby Starbucks. I expect a hotel of this caliber to have this available in their bar area. If they can make a Bloody Mary, they can make coffee. My other complaint is the lobby bar which "misses" somehow. This bar is a big vacuous room, lacking warmth and congeniality. The tables aren't convenient for your drinks, and beware sitting near the "fireplace" feature. It looks lovely, but the outside doors are directly behind it and the chill from them is not pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2006

I just returned from a 4 night stay at the St Regis San Francisco. We booked a standard room for a medical conference but I guess due to my starwood preferred guest status ( and availability ) we were booked into a junior suite.
My only beef for the remainder of the stay was the service ( or lack of ) out front as our cab pulled up.
Nobody anywhere near the place where you are dropped off.
WE opened out own door and lugged our bags to the check in.
From this point on, every single facet of our stay was wonderful.
We were shown to our room by our butler, and given the demonstration on all of the features, which were really helpful since so many things were automated and controlled with the bedside controls.
The best part was the living room, couch. Probably the most comfortable experience ever, to lounge on the couch in front of the plasma.
Watching the first round of the NFL draft, eating steaming hot Blueberry pancakes ( from room service) and lounging on that couch was the best moment I spent in San Francisco
Our suite was so nice we ate breakfast there every morning.
The butler service was nice as well. Any request and somebody was right there.
The best way I can describe the service at this hotel, was that I never ever saw anybody from a service persepcive, yet whenever we needed anything at all, it seemed like somebody was immediately there to take care of it.

Great bed. Large shower with soaking tub.
Great soft towels and bathrobes.

There isn't much in terms of out-of-room dining, but the room service is well above average in terms of quality and selection. We didn't have much of a view from the room, but the view IN the room was nice enough

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank snaggletooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
79 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2006

My company booked the St. Regis for our sales conference and, wow, were we lucky to be able to stay at such a fantastic hotel. The rooms are just amazing. The rain shower was heaven. I had to switch to the Clift for the weekend after my business trip was complete, and I almost cried when I left. I've stayed at the Ritz, the W, and the Palace in San Fran and the St. Regis is by far the best of them. I'm still trying to think of a way I can move in permanently. The staff is very nice, accomodating, courteous, helpful, unlike some of the other 5-Stars. If you have the money, want to treat yourself, and a choice, Stay here. It's worth it.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank tripchick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 228 in San Francisco
955 reviews
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
1,533 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 228 in San Francisco
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,072 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 228 in San Francisco
1,099 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
3,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Property: The St. Regis San Francisco
Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing