We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I seriously considered moving in...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The St. Regis San Francisco
Ranked #5 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2006

I recently stayed at the St. Regis over a weekend and all I can say is returning home was depressing. The rooms are absolutely the best in the city. I have stayed at all the majors in S.F. and while the Four Seasons and W are wonderful they just can't compare with the St. Regis. Upon arrival I was upgraded to a suite with a separate living room. There was a 50 inch plasma in the main room, an LCD in the bathroom, and a 42" in the bedroom! The service was timely and not overbearing. The staff at this hotel is extremely friendly. The hotel is quite new and some of the staff memebers seemed a bit awkward in the performance of their tasks (sort of like bieng nervous on a first date) but overall they were very helpful. The LCD controls in the room can take a bit of getting used to but really give you a lot options. From the bed to the TV's and amazing bathroom...I couldn't get enough. While this hotel is pricey, I can't recommend it highly enough and I will be going back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank biznas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,316)
There are newer reviews for The St. Regis San Francisco
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,206 - 1,212 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2006

My family and I stayed at the St. Regis in San Francisco for 6 days and 5 nights. We had a room with a city view on the 18th floor. Since I was traveling with my wife and my 2 boys, 8 and 11 years old we got a room with 2 queen size beds.

The Good: The service was outstanding and everyone tried to do whatever we needed, when asked. The staff was very helpful with directions and one time we needed a nail clipper and we called the butler service and 5 minutes later the clipper arrived with an emory board. We also called down for a DVD and we received "Escape from Alcatraz" in about 5 minutes after we called the butler.

The realistic: The rooms are beautiful, the beds are extremely comfortable and everything in the room is controlled electronically, black out curtains, drapes, lights, etc. The decor is contempory with neutral colors. The rooms were average size, although for SF they were probably larger than most. The pool was not yet open, so that was a little disappointing for my kids. Also, I did sense that everytime we walked through the lobby that some of the hotel staff were not that thrilled that we had our kids with us.
Location was great. Close to all of the things that we wanted to do in the city.

Overall: Outstanding hotel, great service, but probably not the 1st choice for a family. If you are traveling without the kids or on a business trip probably one of the nicest hotels in SF.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank fhymson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ocGlobetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GlobalTrekPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2006

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank algina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2005

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank dontlosemyluggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2005

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank Joshua C N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
494 reviews
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#12 of 230 in San Francisco
1,613 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#8 of 230 in San Francisco
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#22 of 230 in San Francisco
1,277 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
3,289 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $477 - $1,174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing