We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$468
Hotels.com
$468
Get rewarded with One Key
Expedia.com
$468
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,624)
Filter reviews
1,624 results
Traveler rating
1,094
307
116
63
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,094
307
116
63
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butler service astor suite room service blackout shades soaking tub lobby bar four seasons yerba buena gardens house car moscone center union square car service in room dining corner room high floor market street concierge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 1,624 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

Unfortunately, this hotel is not as good as many would like you to believe here on Tripadvisor. And in a world of honesty, customer feedback, and openness it's important to understand why a hotel such as the St. Regis fails to hit the mark in so many places.

First, this was a 5-day trip in their Metropolitan suite which is a solid $1,200+ per night rate. So right off the bat, if you're paying these prices you expect nothing short of excellence.

The St. Regis is a designed to be a money making machine. If you want a view, even though you're staying in one of their best suites, you need to pay more. They have "high" and "low" level suites of the same floorplan, the former of which are designed to take more money from you. Even a request to the front desk doesn't change anything. You want any sort of view? Pay more.

The hotel is well appointed, the staff is receptive and attentive (a little too attentive actually), and the rooms are clean but nothing exceptional. Again, don't lose track of the $1,200 per night suite rate here. The room service staff are very well trained and exceptional. But here's where things start to collapse.

As mentioned previously, the GM of this hotel cares about one thing only: money and how to squeeze guests as much as possible. Don't get me wrong - I love to splurge and stay at some of the finest hotels in the world. The St. Regis is NOT one of them in light of their service or lack thereof.

As a regular guest of the Four Seasons in SF, Los Angeles, Hong Kong and China I thought the St. Regis would be a nice change of scenery. But it wasn't. It was an average appointed suite with simply impersonal and obvious service.

When you have a guest spending $5k+ during their stay, or even a guest spending $500 per night for a regular room - treat them better. Welcome them with some water and fruit - it's the bare minimum you can do. But that doesn't happen here. Even if you have a special note in your reservation. They don't care.

What they do care about is fake smiles and impersonal service, and also charging you a $5 "delivery fee" for room service in addition to including a 21% delivery charges (only 75% of which goes to your server). What happened here was the GM sat in a room with hotel operations and asked the question of "how do we extract every penny possible from our guests and confuse the crap out of them." Above is how.

When staying at the Four Seasons or the epic Upper House in Hong Kong, they know who you are (even if it is your first time!), they welcome you with fruit, refreshments, even gifts. At the Upper House in Hong Kong, I was greeted with $500 of welcome gifts. Do I need it? No. Does it make you want to go back? Absolutely.

The hotel itself has no outside areas, no patios, nothing. A patio overlooks the Yerba Bueno gardens but this is reserved for Residence guests only. No matter what kind of suite you're staying in, you're not going there.

The bar is subpar, drink service takes forever and their selection is very poor. They have two red wines and two white wines. Pathetic.

The St. Regis doesn't make you want to ever return. Because they're clawing for your cash but can't provide personalized service that warrants it. They can't provide a 5-star experience, simply a facade on which to rest on (their brand). But this won't last forever. They'll get you the first time, but they won't get you again. Because there are FAR better places to stay in San Francisco or the world in general. The St. Regis just blows. And I'll have an even more in-depth write up on my blog shortly. Because the world needs to know why they shouldn't stay here.

What a disappointment, what a poor experience and what a money hungry hotel that doesn't get what it is to run a real hotel: a hotel that might charge quite a bit, but a hotel that will keep you coming back time and time again.

Don't stay here, go elsewhere. You won't regret it.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled on business
5  Thank Kristian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andre B, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

Dear Kristian K,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. I regret to hear that your experience fell far below our five star standards, and sincerely apologize for failing to provide you with exceptional service. We truly value our guests’ comments, and will immediately review your concerns. I encourage you to contact me directly to further discuss these details, as we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Andre Brose
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Andre.Brose@stregis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile

The hotel is up to chain's standards yet it isn't over the top which you come to appreciate for some of the St. Regis properties. The hotel and its facilities are well kept. Service could be better. Prices from the in room so in room dining menu were outrageous though. Besides this it was a great stay. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank LeCutMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 6, 2016

From check in to check out , staff at the reception desk was superb. I did carry my own carry on , bellman did offer assistance. Room was very clean and elegant. Over all service and top notch. Staff very pleasant, Guys are at the door was fantastic.

Room tip: corner room has a panoramic view of the city
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jasonlow73
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andre B, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

Dear jasonlow73,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. We sincerely appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and service and hope to welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to San Francisco.
Sincerely,
Andre Brose
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Andre.Brose@stregis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

We were there to celebrate my birthday, room medium size, bed really comfortable, big tv, excellent view, bathroom big enough, the only thing B- was running water in toilet, no too much pressure. Walking distance to union square, Chinatown , little Italy. A lot of uber cars, always available in a short time. There are a lot of upscale stores around union square .

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Serbay00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andre B, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

Dear Serbay00,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful experience and that you enjoyed our location and amenities. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly prior to your next visit, as we hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Andre Brose
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Andre.Brose@stregis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2016 via mobile

I do always very much enjoy staying at this property. We had a very wonderful stay in the Astor suite. Breakfast in the Grill is much more pleasant than it used to be in the past in the dining room upstairs. Service attentive and professional, only annoying habit remains that the bar is being emptied/cleaned up whilst still in operation for the last hour of service leading to it feeling unpleasant and not very relaxing. Check out this time a total nightmare, very long lines as people were checking in, after just over 15 minutes I gave up as I needed to go to the airport- very poor. It's not comparable with the standards of the St Regis NYC but it's overall a very nice property with mainly excellent service.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank STEPDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andre B, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2016

Dear STEPDI,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. We are delighted to hear that you had an exceptional stay, and sincerely appreciate your kind words regarding our staff and service. I sincerely apologize for the excessive delay upon departure, and will address this with our teams. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly prior to your next visit to San Francisco, as we hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Andre Brose
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Andre.Brose@stregis.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews