We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service unbecoming a 5 star hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The St. Regis San Francisco
Ranked #5 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service unbecoming a 5 star hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My family of 5 was promised connecting rooms and we received adjoining rooms. At first they acted like they didn't understand the difference. It is a big difference for a family with young children! Then despite fact that I was obviously very unhappy about it and they said they would try to find me another room, I never heard back from them in the 2 nights we were there. Also, for us at least, the butler service was nonexistent. My wife's thought was that they seem very engaged towards their business group guests and a family of out of towners like us didn't matter. I have stayed in the Phoenician, Breakers, Four Seasons, etc and never experienced a five star hotel that just didn't care about a problem situation before, with no follow up whatsoever. Just not right given the high cost. Nice property though.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. I regret to hear of your experience upon arrival and sincerely apologize on behalf of our Front Desk team. I encourage you to contact me directly so that we further discuss the details of your visit and how we may improve your family experience.
Sincerely,
Anthony Duggan
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Anthony.duggan@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    226
    86
    39
    22
See reviews for
175
388
75
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

I was surprised that the St. Regis has a cozy contemporary modern feel. Great decor and elegant feel without the coldness.
Great place for couples and families. Near many attractions, shopping, entertainment, and restaurants. Make sure to checkout The Grove restaurant across the street for breakfast, Water Bar for lunch, Slanted Door for dinner.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank alonsocyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watertown, CT
Level Contributor
308 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The rooms are terrific and the lobby is refined but not overly stuffy. The bartenders are exceptionally skilled at making drinks and conversation. It is really enjoyable to see a bar staff that takes their craft seriously and seems to enjoy their work (Matt in particular)...although the manager does seem to lurk a bit. The doormen are similarly impressive. Unfortunately the concierge team seem to be beginners. In SF the concierge is critical because there are so many places to dine and the scene seems to change all the time. As an out of towner having a pro to guide us through that scene is a big part of why I pick a place like the St Regis. Unfortunately, we talked with three of the concierge staff and only one of the restaurants they selected was above average (Alta). Fortunately, the room service was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aaronds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to share your review of The St. Regis San Francisco. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience in our Lobby Lounge and apologize for the restaurant recommendations that you received. Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time, as we hope to welcome you back to the best address in the near future.
Sincerely,
Anthony Duggan
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Anthony.duggan@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Had a great experience from the moment I called Spg the parent company of this hotel, a kindly lady helped me get the best deal since we had three rooms for 5 nights. The rooms are very modern, wonderful amenities, towels, plush sheets, modern desk for working at - lovely bottles of shampoo and so forth. Anything I asked for they immediately saw too. No complaints at all about the actual hotel, which even has a great indoor pool. Well located. Had to wait a little while at check in - but they did offer lots of drinks etc - hotel was fully booked. The concierge staff were FABULOUS - mariah, david, antonia, caroline, very very helpful and pleasant. Downside: very costly room service, no proper restaurant to eat in, breakfast restaurant very snooty. All in all well worth the money and would definitely go back if only San Francisco would heat up a little.

Room Tip: join the starwood guest club because they have great benefits at many chains.
See more room tips
Green Features: As in most hotels if you don't want your sheets changed you leave a note and if you want the towels washed you leave them in the tub. Good idea.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesgreathotels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel and the staff (especially Irma Gabriel and Karina at front desk - both of who really spent time to get my requests handled) and the concierge staff (who booked alcatraz and helped with transportation) really do a great job. The only downside is the noise- very loud because of construction during the week and festivals during the weekend.

Room Tip: stay away from the construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kenneth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

We had our first visit to San Fran for 25th wedding anniversary & chose this hotel based upon other reviews posted on this site. Were not disappointed! The hotel was full with a convention which worked in our favor, we were upgraded to a lovely suite which was available at an early check-in time no less! The staff was all more than helpful in every way. The room extremely comfortable and well appointed. Only minor complaint is the shower's lack of water pressure, but that is probably due to the city - not the hotel. There was one night the hotel was hosting an extremely loud party on the terrace - I mean Loud- when we called front desk to ask about it they told us that they would be quited at 10pm and sure enough at 10pm it became quite, which was good because we had a very early flight out - didn't want to end our trip on a bad note. Would highly recommend this property if staying in San Fran for either business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and honored that you chose to celebrate the occasion at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your understanding regarding the event noise in the evening. Please do not hesitate to contact me prior to your next visit as we hope to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Anthony Duggan
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Anthony.duggan@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig
Level Contributor
122 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Booked via their website

Checkin: A little bit slow, had to wait for more than 10 mins.
Checkout: Quick and easy

Rooms: Nice room, lot of space, good bed, had a good sleep.

Spa: Very nice. Got here a wonderful massage treatment after a running race. Professional therapist, knows exaclty what you need after a marathon.

Breakfast: Ok, would say: That's American 5* hotel: Healthy, small portions, expansive...

Location: Good: Close to Moscone center.

Overall: Pricey, high comfort, very nice staff. When you can afford it, then go.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TMG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony D, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed our spa, guestroom décor, and service. We appreciate your understanding of the delay upon arrival and hope to welcome you back soon.
Anthony Duggan
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Anthony.duggan@stregis.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,336 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#8 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#16 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,306 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 235 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Property: The St. Regis San Francisco
Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing