We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great but a bit noisy cause very close to the fire station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The St. Regis San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The St. Regis San Francisco
Ranked #7 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great but a bit noisy cause very close to the fire station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed for a week, the room is cozy (we had the corner connecting room), but there's no sofa just a desk so it was a bit awkward when watching TV. The bathroom and room sizes are quite spacious and clean. On one of the nights, they had a mechanical problem that caused a blackout for almost 24 hours (no hot water, no lights, no electricity) but they comped us for that. The hotel's location is one block away from Market St and very close to the fire station so every night we would hear the sirens of the fire engines.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gtahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your sharing your experience on your recent stay at The St. Regis San Francisco. We apologize for the inconvenience that the power outage caused you and your guests during your stay, but thank you for being so understanding of the situation. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our guestrooms and central location. In the coming months, the fire station will be moving a few blocks from its current location which will improve the traffic noise. We hope you will to visit us again soon on your next trip to San Francisco.

Sincerely,

William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    236
    87
    41
    22
See reviews for
181
400
77
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Location, Style, and Service are hallmarks of true 5 Star Service that do not go unnoticed at The St Regis SF. I grew up in the San Francisco Bay Area and am very familiar with all the top hotels in the city. The St Regis SF is, without doubt, one of the best the city has to offer.

The lobby has recently been refreshed with a new and more inviting feel which makes for a fantastic evening of cocktails at the bar. From this location, one can walk just about anywhere in the city. Such an effortless experience.

Craig at the front desk is one of the best I have worked with in the business. Always willing to go the extra mile for a hotel guest.

I love this place...and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: I have stayed here many times and have never had a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussFilice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent experience at the St. Regis San Francisco. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our newly updated Ame Lobby Lounge. We take pride in our address so we are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, style & decor. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Craig & the rest of the team at our Front Desk. Again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon for another wonderful stay at the St. Regis San Francisco.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Rude staff with no patience. Does not value guests with sincerity. Managed by inexperience front office staff. Extremely disappointing.
I would avoid this hotel. SF is such a beautiful city. This establishment poisons it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CCB056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We want to thank you for sharing your thoughts on the St. Regis San Francisco. I sincerely apologize on behalf of our staff for the poor level of service that you experienced during your time at the hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, so that we may discuss the details of your stay and how we may improve your recent experience.

Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a nice stay at this pricey hotel. Staff was polite and friendly. Gorgeous floral arrangements in public spaces. Rooms have remote control everything, which is OK, but subject to malfunction. Toilet has only frosted glass door. Tub is not so private, either. You'd better be traveling w/someone with whom you are very intimate...bedding, towels very nice. No lobby coffee:(. Within walking distance to most everything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alre83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We're almost locals to San Francisco and it is always wonderful to escape to this fabulous city. We made a last minute anniversary weekend decision to stay at the St Regis and sought a warm and quiet get away. The W is down the block, but we weren't in the mood for the nightclub feel this time.

From the moment we pulled up in the drive, the staff at the St. Regis showed their difference in welcoming guests. Everything was friendly, efficient and at the right pace (no rush anywhere). The check in went more like an arrival at a good friends home. Daniela Cataldo and her assistants wowed us with their friendliness and put us in a quiet floor and room when they learned it was our anniversary.

The hotel location next to the MOMA made is easy to visit and taxis are easy to get on 3rd st. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: 3rd street is busy, so ask for a room on the opposite side if noise bothers you. Also, that opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on your most recent stay at the St. Regis San Francisco. It was our pleasure to have you at the hotel for your anniversary weekend. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to create a memorable experience for your special occasion. Thank you for sharing remarks on the warm welcome that you received at the Front Desk and the convenient location of the hotel within San Francisco. We hope that you will choose the St. Regis for your next getaway to the city.

Sincerely,

William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We decided to splurge and stayed a couple of nights at this ultramodern and luxurious hotel during a trip to tour UC Berkeley and Stanford with our teenagers. The hotel is geared more towards the business traveler, but we felt very comfortable in our large clean room. The front office staff was extremely accommodating as we were upgraded to a larger room as our room was not ready yet. Good high end shopping was a short walk away at Union Square. Breakfast was fulfilling and delicious at Vitrine, while Ame provided my wife and I a different twist on the usual sushi. The only two complaints were that overnight parking was expensive at $50/night and that the HD flat screen did not have alot of HD channels. I expected more HD programming from the modern accommodations... after all, the large central room remote controlled everything else in the room, from the lights to the shade to the radio to the phone!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trungus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Loved St Regis San Francisco, the hotel was amazing and the service impeccable. the rooms are spacious and very light and airy. The staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble, Located in a quiet part of the city and directly cross the road from the MOMA what more could you ask for. We stayed for 3 nights and wish we could have stayed longer, I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel, felt like a home away from home, we loved the St regis hotel and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agiacoumis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley D, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to connect with us regarding your most recent experience at The St. Regis San Francisco. We appreciate your comments for our bespoke service and helpful staff. San Francisco is a remarkable city with so much to offer and we are pleased to hear our location helped you explore the local area with ease. Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our address in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,423 reviews
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#5 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#11 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,331 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#18 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,421 reviews
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 235 in San Francisco
5.0 of 5 stars 1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Property: The St. Regis San Francisco
Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing