We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis San Francisco

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The St. Regis San Francisco
Ranked #9 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gorgeous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

When we checked into the St Regis, the St Regis butler took us up to our room - an upgrade to an Astor Suite on the corner of the 19th floor for our honeymoon! We were very surprised at the upgrade and also the champagne and chocolates which were in our room. The room was fabulous, very spacious and felt like an apartment rather than a hotel. The whole hotel had this feeling, like you were staying in a beautiful apartment complex rather than a busy hotel. We loved the complimentary coffee & tea each morning brought to our room and every request we had was attended to promptly and with a smile. Thank you to the concierge who helped us with car rental and a day trip up to the Napa Valley. We had room service one night which was delicious, as were the drinks in the lobby bar. I have stayed in many five star hotels but never a St Regis & after this wonderful experience I would definitely look to book a St Regis hotel again. It was just perfect!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank katjmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    250
    91
    43
    25
See reviews for
198
422
79
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

One of our favorite hotels. The corner suites are very nice, the location is perfect, the décor is fabulous.

Room Tip: Splurge and get a corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean-Laura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, NJ
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

I recently needed to stay in San Fran for business and the St. Regis is proximate to my Firm's office. The overall location is fine as well. The Muni station was just a couple of blocks away and the F line just up the street. I was very pleased. Everything I needed for business purposes was available and convenient. I will set aside (well almost) my pet peeve of high end hotels charging for internet when mid-range hotels do not, but that is not unique to the St Regis. Common areas, while very modern, were nonetheless warm and inviting. Service was excellent and friendly.

My room was very comfortable and quiet. The shower is outstanding and the bathroom spacious. When I told the front desk that I was extending my stay and that my wife was joining me for the weekend, they offered to move me into an upgraded room. These folks know how to win your loyalty. Make me look good to my beloved and you get my repeat business in a heartbeat. Plus the room was so pleasant to my wife it resulted in her choosing to use the hotel spa as well.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor - they are very quiet. Plus the corner rooms have great windows and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbl5283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

stayed when it just opened. beautiful. great location. great service. excellent restaurant

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ghyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William F, Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments about the hotel. We hope that you are able to stay with us again soon.

Regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

The luxury brand truly speaks for itself at this San Francisco location. I really enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. I am a Starwood member and was upgraded to the 17th floor immediately at check-in. Awesome welcome gift, huh?

The bar in the lobby is wonderful and a super nice touch with the fireplace partition. Their bartender was very accommodating and was happy to prepare for me a refreshing non-alcoholic drink (non-drinker myself). The pool as well as the gym were superb. The hotel is located close to Market Street where everything is; the muni also stops in front of this hotel which made it very convenient for my stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuvVacays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William F, Hotel Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Dear Loyal Starwood Guest and TripAdviser Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at the St. Regis San Francisco. Compliments such as yours are shared with our entire staff and motivates us to continue providing the highest level of service to all of our valued guests. While I am pleased to hear that the physical aspects and location of the St. Regis San Francisco appealed to you, it is your acknowledgement of how our staff accommodated you that is most gratifying to hear.
Please allow us to welcome you back to our address in the near future. It will be my pleasure to assist you in any way possible.

William Fong
Hotel Manager
St. Regis San Francisco
415-748-7100
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stay at this property (a first St. Regis for me), first night in a standard room and consequent 2 nights in an Astor Suite. The whole stay blew me apart.
Having stayed at the MO and FS SF previously, this design and decor of this hotel is definitely more modern and tasteful. The lobby, the lobby bar and AME (their Micheline starred restaurant) are very nicely furnished. The staff greeted me warmly upon checkin and had all my details and documents ready in no time. The standard room was very nice, and the room service I had from AME was definitely one of my best room service meal ever.
The next day I moved to the Astor suite and was introduced to my butler Jenny. She and the butler team was definitely very attentive and responded to my requests swiftly and professionally. The suite itself was very nice, with a big dining table and a spacious living room so when my friends came over it was perfect for a group gathering in the suite. The bathroom in both the room and suite were modern and nicely done (unlikely the relatively old fashioned ones at FS and MO) and the staff at the reception could recognise me by greeting me with my first name, I think a rarity nowadays even in 5 star hotels. I was given the suite on the top floor (20th) which has a very impressive view of the city?

So, FS, MO( soon to be renovated) or the St.R? I think if you like breath taking views, go for MO. Convenience to shopping area/union square, go for FS (Although to be fair St. Regis is only 2 minutes away from the FS). But if you want to have convenience, classy decor,modern technology, world class staff , St. Regis has got it all--I think it will easily be my first choice when I next visit SF. Definitely should try this without a doubt.

One minor point would be that the pillows and mattress slightly on the soft side to my liking

Room Tip: Ask for Top Level room and facing South/Southwest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zwgc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

St. Regis service is world-class. What makes the biggest difference is the attitude of the staff- cheerful, helpful, will go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable- from the bellman to the butlers!

Room Tip: get a high floor for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinsorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,821 reviews
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#14 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#29 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#20 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Property: The St. Regis San Francisco
Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing