We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“location, location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The St. Regis San Francisco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The St. Regis San Francisco
Ranked #9 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“location, location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

The St Regis is a beautiful, but expensive hotel located within walking distance from AT&T park. The rooms were lovely, and the bar action was fun when returning from a night game! The walk from the hotel to the park was enjoyable, safe and just what was needed before enjoing a great Giants Game!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    243
    91
    42
    23
See reviews for
190
412
78
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

We had a beautiful stay at the St. Regis. Although here for business coming back to thr hotel for quiet time was wonderful.

The rooms were very luxurious and comfortable with very fresh linens free of debris. The TV had unlimited channels, although, to watch movies a high payment was required. The bathroom facilities in the room were magnificent. A large bathtub was situated near a walk-in shower.

The location was very convenient for both shopping and exploring. Also, the san francisco museum of modern art is just down the block.

The St. Regis had some of the best staff service i have ever seen.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

This hotel is only a few years old and it shows in its modern design and clean look. The rooms are well appointed and the bathrooms just as good. I'm a big fan of the shower. While the staff still need a bit of work to reach the level of the Ritz up the road but they still do a great job. If you are in town for an event at the Moscone Center or are looking to attend the museum you couldn't pick a better hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drew3114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
183 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

I am staying here right now (Feb 2012) on a business conference and have found he hotel to be comfortable and relaxed. The rooms are spacious (the wall to the bathroom that can be folded back helps to give an illusion of space) and quiet, and the public spaces of the hotel are relaxed. Staff are friendly and helpful.

There is nothing special about the location - there's no view from the hotel or the surrounding area that you would write about - but the main shopping area is quite handy.

All in all, a decent place for a conference but I wouldn't stay here on holiday.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Having stayed at St Regis Princevalle I was very disappointed in this property. Nothing Grand Delux about my room. For the price it was sub par. No Butler greeting no local car service no water offered. Will stay at the Westin or the W next time. The beddind was not the quality you would expect. Called housekeeping for a feather pillow as the foam ones on bed were hard as a rock. They brought me another foam pillow. Used a huge amount is star points and regret it,

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharontognietti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StRegisSanFran, Hotel Manager at The St. Regis San Francisco, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I apologize that we fell short of delivering the level of service that you deserve and expect from a St. Regis Hotel. Our Butler staff should have been much more available to you and our standard is two complimentary bottles of water in every room but neither was provided. Our Bentley house car service is from 6:00pm-10:00pm every evening. As soon as our bedding and terry reaches a certain level of usage, it is replaced and the fact that we did not distinguish a foam pillow from a feather one is unacceptable. I am hoping you will allow us an opportunity to regain your confidence. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for future stays.
Sincerely,
William Fong
Hotel Manager
415-284-4057
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed here in August 2011, for 3 nights thinking it was the warmest time to come to San Francisco but be warned! It was freezing we did not take the right clothes, t-shirts and flip flops are too cold for SF. The hotel lobby was really modern but had a great atmosphere. The rooms were MASSIVE with a great view, we had a 2 bed suite overlooking the city, they were decorated very modern, however I felt they were slightly shabby and looked worn. The only thing that let the hotel down, was the breakfast. It was order not buffet and just isn't really worth the price, it's better to find somewhere on your travels.
San Francisco is definitely a must see, and this hotel is great for touring as the location is ideal and the rooms spacious, for when you are rushing home to get ready to go back out again.
Would definitely come back when visitng San Francisco.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BonjourLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2012

With respect to the good-folk of San Francisco they are obsessed by two things; traffic and the weather- fog in particular!

It dominates both the newspaper and their local television “news” channel Kron4. Which in my opinion is the worst “news” channel in the English speaking world (and that’s saying something). That said, from a consumer perspective, when looking for a hotel, one should not underplay the potential depilating effects “hospitality fog” can have when it comes to choosing a 5 star hotel in which to spend your hard-earned dollar.

One can get disorientated in the ‘fog’ of glossy P.R. material that emanates from all these establishments-reassuring you that their hotel is the one you should seek sanctuary in until the ‘fog’ has lifted. So what to do?

My wife and I spent 11 nights at the St. Regis hotel during the festive season Dec/Jan 2012 on the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor, as well as the soothing and reassurance words published in their in-house publication: “Bespoke.”

From the moment we stepped through the lobby doors we knew we had made the right choice! While outside the air was frigid an cold, upon entering, we were enveloped in warmth of subtle brown tones, which underpins the décor, giving the entire hotel a warm, understated contemporary luxury feel.

Check in by Alan was fast, efficient and friendly and most of all welcoming, and after an 18 hour flight from Australia-that’s important!

In fact during our entire stay not once did our presence go unacknowledged by any of the staff we encountered. As we left of a morning, eye-contact by at least one employee was made, be they front desk, concierge or door. It was always: “have a good day” or “good morning” and again on our return in the evening we received the same warm greetings. In large hotels such as the St Regis it’s the little things that are very important.

Our room was on the 10th floor. I could really stretch the thesaurus here with all sorts of superlatives to describe it- safe to say it was lovely! Plain white pastel walls, capped off the delightful open-air feel the room had. Again, very important if you are going to spend 11 nights in the room is not to feel claustrophobic.

Being first time visitors to San Francisco, (and being totally unfamiliar with the vagrancies of ‘fog’), we felt that we needed to employ the services of a: “fog-master” to ensure that we continued to make the right choices when it came to choosing where to go and eat and what to see in San Francisco. The “fog-masters” of the St Regis concierge ensured that we never took a faltering step.

In no particular order: Antonio, Caroline, Kathleen, Mariah, Eric and Selena – who recommended probably the best steak house we have ever eaten at (5A5) - all of them really known San Francisco!! Every time, their recommendations on whatever we asked (tours, places to eat et al) were right on the money. Collectively they were the foundation upon which a wonderful holiday was constructed! Thank you!!

Food at the hotel is a serious business.

We ate a couple of times at Vitrine which serves local Californian-fare with the freshest of ingredients. We also enjoyed a lovely room service one evening brought to our room by the very hospitable Casey. Unfortunately we didn’t get the opportunity to dine at their signature restaurant: Ame. My wife and I hope to rectify this on our next visit at years-end.

The hotel is in a good location, a short walk from Union Square and all the public transport facilities.

So in short:

If you are planning a trip to San Francisco, pray for ‘fog’ and enjoy the refuge that is the St Regis.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PerthMovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Chinatown
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco
#6 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
SoMa
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco
#11 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,636 reviews
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St. Regis San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St. Regis San Francisco

Property: The St. Regis San Francisco
Address: 125 Third St., San Francisco, CA 94103-3107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#5 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. Regis San Francisco 5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious St. Regis San Francisco also has the Museum of the African Diaspora located within the hotel and the renowned San Francisco Museum of Modern Art next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The St. Regis San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Regis Hotel, San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
St Regis San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing