We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Economy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Economy Inn
Ranked #178 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Covina, California
1 review
“Great”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have stayed here twice. Once with my boyfriend and once with my family. Both times have gone with out any problems. The guy in the front was very nice the first time, it was easy to check in, free parking, free wifi and a good view of the bridge. Its nothing fancy but its clean and has all you need. Second time i went the guy actually remembered me and was super nice and helpful. Love this place, again nothing fancy but i really like it because its everything you need for a great price. I plan to stay here again next month :)

Room Tip: park on the slots facing the street its a lot easier
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy_meraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    23
    10
    21
See reviews for
15
33
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Agrigento, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The location was great. It is next to the bus, close to chestnut street, Free parking, free Wifi.
Difficult to fix water temperature while using the shower.
Price affordable, but take your personal towel with you, there are very dirty towel they seems like yellow/black and smell old. I'm disappointed only for this.
but everything was good.
I will come back there, but with my own towel. :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabius88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The location is great, great view of San Francisco from the balcony, the receptionist was so nice and friendly and welcoming, because of the staff and the location we will definitely be staying there every time we go to the city

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We chose this motel because of the affordable price and 6.0+ average review on various booking engines (other motels had lower reviews).
I would recommend this motel for people, who spend the entire day outside sightseeing and exploring the city, since the motel itself is very basic and does not offer much comfort.
The main advantages of this motel are free parking, surprisingly fast wifi and location.
The list of downsides is unfortunately longer: dirty rooms (need renovation asap), old sheets (they do not change them during your stay), uncomfortable beds, but by most we had been disappointed over the bad lock on the door, which every rookie robber could crack. We left all our stuff in our car, while visiting the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anze S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Newark, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Knights Inn for 3 nights in the beginning of October. I didn't know what to expect after reading reviews of the place, but it's not as bad as everyone makes it seem. We arrived a few hours before check-in, and the lady at the front desk was very nice and able to accommodate our early arrival. The room itself is pretty basic. We had a king bed, TV, fridge, etc. The décor was dated, but that didn't bother us, as we didn't plan on spending much time in the room. The free parking and Wi-Fi were a great bonus. The Inn is only about 3 or 4 blocks to the 30 bus, which was very convenient, as the 30 bus can really take you anywhere you want to go in San Francisco. Our plans for Sunday changed and we found ourselves having a full-day in San Francisco that we weren't planning on. The gentleman who owns the Inn allowed us to have a late check-out, and also allowed us to leave our car in the lot while we gallivanted around San Francisco for one last time, which we greatly appreciated. The owners were very attentive and friendly. Overall, this is a good place to stay, especially when on a budget.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

It's difficult to find the right words to describe this hotel/motel. It is very basic but has all you really need if you don't intend to spend long hours in your room. As others have noted 'reception' seems to be part of the managers accommodation, but as we didn't need to bother them very often this wasn't a problem for us. Possibly not the cleanest hotel we have stayed in, but adequate. Plenty of hot water and free wifi - a real bonus. The lady in the reception room was extremely helpful when we had problems with our shuttle and for this we were extremely grateful.

The room was exactly as described to us, with two large beds, tv, microwave, and very large fridge. A coffee maker was also provided - although supplies for this were often lacking. However with a Walgreens nearby we were able to buy milk etc. when we needed extra.

Location is good within fairly easy walking distance of Presidio, Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39 etc. Can recommend Mels for breakfast and evening meal - very reasonably priced. They also do a great pumpkin pie dessert. Scrumptious.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cathy-Freeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Here at moment and cannot see anything to complain about !! Got everything we need tv, fridge, microwave, and coffee make , bathroom very good and everything works don't know what people complain about excellent location !!! We will enjoy for sure .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annlivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#160 of 229 in San Francisco
592 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#156 of 229 in San Francisco
649 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#139 of 229 in San Francisco
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#185 of 229 in San Francisco
321 reviews
Marina District
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#94 of 229 in San Francisco
583 reviews
Marina District
Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina
Super 8 San Francisco/Near the M...
#159 of 229 in San Francisco
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn

Property: Economy Inn
Address: 1 Richardson Ave, San Francisco, CA 94123-2413 (Formerly Knights Inn San Francisco / Near the Presidio)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Economy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Inn Presidio Hotel San Francisco
Economy Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing