We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get tricked by booking this hotel - bed bugs!”
Review of Economy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Economy Inn
Ranked #178 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't get tricked by booking this hotel - bed bugs!”
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Hi, we stayed here for 2 nights. We overpaid due to being in San Fran on busy weekend. Paper thin walls and ceiling. I've never experienced bed bugs before but now have itchy red bites on my arms, legs and torso so I'm guessing they are bed bugs!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dormos01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    23
    23
    10
    21
See reviews for
15
33
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego, ca
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Room was clean, avg price for summer and location. Pretty good neighborhood sports bar nearby on Lombard, the Final Final.
Motel mgmt doesn't limit parking to guests, employees of nearby establishments park on site, so there's not enough parking. Front desk called at midnight, had tomove car couple blocks away. Maybe use public transp after check in?

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

After a day of travelling, we arrived in San Fransisco and all we wanted was a motel and a decent dinner. The first turned out to be not as easy as we thought...They say tha San Fransisco is the most European orientated city in the U.S., but hinestly, we are not this rude!! In 4 motels we were basically told that we were stupid to think that we could stay in any hotel in SF without making a reservation. The prices were also not amusing: 100 dollars a night a room...This is very European..;)
To make a long story short, we ende up in the economy inn. (60$) The staff was friendly, but here the positivity stops. The rooms were awfull...In fact it was so filthy, that I slept on a towel I (fortunately!) bought earlier, to avoid touching the bed linnen! I am a reasonable traveller, I've seen some dumps here and there, but this was truly disgusting...We found faeces on the bathroom doorpost, everything was sticky and the bed was not clean...We were happy to leave...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SophiaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

london
Level 6 Contributor
311 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2009

We stayed here for two nights and paid only $100. The hotel is close to bars and restaurants and local shops. Free parking. The room was clean and recently been refurbed. The number 30 bus is nearby and goes to the tourist areas. We walked and it was a pleasant 35 minutes. Just a short walk from the hotel is the Golden gate bridge next to Presido park, nice area to have a stroll and coffee and take photos.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_K1509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2005

Room was alright, nothing special, but the price was OK: $250 for 3 nights, weekend. Free parking. No wireless internet.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthijst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#159 of 229 in San Francisco
596 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#156 of 229 in San Francisco
649 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#139 of 229 in San Francisco
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#185 of 229 in San Francisco
321 reviews
Marina District
Marina Motel
Marina Motel
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
584 reviews
Marina District
Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina
Super 8 San Francisco/Near the M...
#160 of 229 in San Francisco
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn

Property: Economy Inn
Address: 1 Richardson Ave, San Francisco, CA 94123-2413 (Formerly Knights Inn San Francisco / Near the Presidio)
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Economy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Economy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Economy Inn Presidio Hotel San Francisco
Economy Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing