We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a business hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park Hotel
Ranked #149 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a business hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

The room was adequate but not ideal for the business traveler. Wi-fi was slow in areas and sometimes didn't work at all. There was no desk in the room and services were limited. no free coffee. Old style heater, but no temperature control. This is more suitable for a tight budget and has more of a hostel environment with the access to a community kitchen.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Abusiness T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    392
    276
    112
    85
See reviews for
95
447
204
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

Great place to stay, we were there for 3 nights, and thoroughly enjoyed our time here. Clean, friendly, and such a wonderful location on Union Square. Very close to trams to piers, buses to Haight , and Castro. Well with in walking distance to great restaurants. The hotel offers a fully equipped kitchen, thoroughly clean.
The minuses this place could do with some refurbishment. For the bargain price I recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a bargain priced clean hotel. I would definitely stay here again if I was in San Francisco. The front desk guy was very helpful.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the street ( our choice) it was quite noisy but very interesting viewing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trishwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

No nonsense, Clean sheets and bathroom, amazing location, cheap. Everything was literally a stone's throw away. Rodel, the manager, was really helpful.

For the price, can't be beat. I don't get why others give a lower rating for the price paid.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed at the Park Hotel in September. In all honesty it's not a place I would usually book as it looked very basic but I was unaware that over the weekend I was there, a major streetparty was scheduled which meant it was one of the only hotels in the centre with any rooms at such short notice.

It's a pleasant hotel and for the price bracket is pretty reasonable and clean. It is 'no frills' but for the money you can't complain.

Be a bit careful if you book this hotel through a travel site as I made this mistake and was greeted at check-in by a room rate above what was advertised on the internet due to the addition of US tax. The manager however was very understanding and agreed to wave the tax and take the matter up with the internet site.

Overall if you want budget accomodation this is a great find with a great location just a stones throw from Union Square.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gymjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

In such a great area that the Ritz-Carlton is only a few blocks away, this place was perfect for me. I went to San Fran by myself (female, 30's) and felt safe at all times here. I did need to share a bathroom, but that was not a problem since it was always clean and available when I needed.

I stayed 3 nights. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. Mass transit station nearby. Plenty of restaurants, taverns, and shops. Was a great base as I explored all corners of this fantastic and interesting city! I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NewOrleansSecrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#135 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#138 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#59 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#104 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#86 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: 325 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel San Francisco
Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing