We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and good value for your money”
Review of 325 Sutter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
325 Sutter Hotel
Ranked #149 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and good value for your money”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed at the Park Hotel for 4 nights and had a very good time. The room was large enough, clean and the location of the hotel is great. If you are into shopping or sightseeing this place is worth consideration if you are on a tight budget. My room was a bit noisy and I was slightly annoyed by the elevator, old-fashioned and you had to manually hold the door open (requiring some effort) if you wanted to leave.
The people working at the Park Hotel were always friendly and had some great recommendations for sightseeing.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank markusb030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    395
    277
    112
    85
See reviews for
95
447
205
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Really disppointing. More like a hostel than a hotel.

There was a faint smell of vomit in the room that was hugely masked by cheap air freshener. No hairdryer. Awful view of another scruffy room. Other people's hair stuck to the bathroom tiles. Truly depressing.
On the plus side, we had paid to stay there 7 nights, on the third day I asked if we could stay one more night then leave and have the 4 nights money refunded. The guy did this without even asking my reasons and we were not charged a cancellation fee - just wish we had done it on day 1! Following this awful experience we blew the budget and went to stay in Villa Florence, a beautiful 4* hotel around the corner which absolutely made the holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Salem, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I need a good place to serve as a base for my weekend of Outside Lands. Four nights in, and I can honestly say that it's worth the price for the location, the friendly staff, and the bare bones but very clean rooms. As someone who usually travels budget, this was the perfect place to find a room. I'm not one who cares a lot about amenities - my emphasis is usually on the cleanliness of a place and this one feels well taken care of. It's an old building, but the rooms are perfectly fine for a stay in the center of the city. It's five minutes to BART, and a block from Union Square, so it's well situated. I had a room with a shared bathroom, but because it was only a couple doors down, it worked out well. The bed was comfortable, the linens clean, and the big window let in nice cool air in the evening.

Yes, the television only has a few local channels - I never really seem to care about this because if you end up watching too much television in room, you're probably not executing your trip correctly anyhow! The in-room sink is quite useful, and there is ample lighting and counter space. There is an elevator for people who need aid with larger bags, but I opted for the stairs - much faster. While there is no breakfast offered, there is, however, a kitchen on the third floor open during regular hours for full use! Very cool, and it was easy to make this simple room a home away from home during the weekend, and made for a nice place to come back to at the end of the day!

Room Tip: Apparently, the wifi fluctuates, but I had no problem using it in my room (417), and while I had a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviamarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

San Francisco is incredibly expensive when it comes to Lodging. The Park is an older property, very spartan. No lobby to speak of, but it does have Laundry. It is used by international students, and includes both shared bath options and rooms with private bath. Ours had private, a clawfoot tub with shower, simple desk, plastic chair, bed, and t.v. with basic local channels. The point however, is to see San Francisco, and in that respect this is a great location. Four blocks from China Town. French Quarter 1/2 a block away. Two blocks to the Powell trolley line, and four blocks to the Montgomery Transit station for all transportation options. The staff was courteous, helpful, and the location felt safe and secure. Kudos to the front desk person when we were leaving for calling the Airport Shuttle service three times to give us updates of their progress when traffic delayed them. I would recommend this as a base for exploration of a vibrant city.

Room Tip: No Air Conditioning. This is a better summer property than winter, based on the condition of our wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merle515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lady Lake, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

The park does show its age and is certainly a no frills hotel. The elevator is "quaint". But if you can smile past this, you are in an excellent location to enjoy the city. It's close to all public transportation and an easy walk to several of the sites such as China Town. Good breakfast choices too just a block or two away. And the price is right!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaSoucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Myself and my Family stayed in the Park Hotel last month and were only extremely satisfied with everything during our stay. The prices are exceptional considering the location- which is effectively the city center. Even though there is no breakfast here, the Park's staff are only happy to recommend restaurants for breakfast. The receptionist in the evening was particularly helpful. She recommend that we go to a restaurant on our first night - The Stinking Rose and nothing compared to it for the rest of our stay. Olivia also helped us plan a day trip to Stanford and San Jose giving us train times and advising when and where we should go! Maybe the rooms are basic but the staff at the Park really make the stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelkidd L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giv'atayim, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

acceptable price, clean and nice rooms and a pleasant staff. every few floors there's a public kitchen where you can make food and eat if you like. had a great location, right in the middle and close to everywhere's transportation. not fancy or anything but if you just want a decent place to crash after a day of touring it is just enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lihi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,346 reviews
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#153 of 229 in San Francisco
44 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#132 of 229 in San Francisco
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 229 in San Francisco
1,166 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#82 of 229 in San Francisco
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 325 Sutter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 325 Sutter Hotel

Property: 325 Sutter Hotel
Address: 325 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4387
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 325 Sutter Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 325 Sutter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel San Francisco
Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing