We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, Great place, Great Location”
Review of 325 Sutter Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
325 Sutter Hotel
Ranked #150 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great value, Great place, Great Location”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here and if we go back to San Francisco we wouldn't stay anywhere else. We had a good size room with big TV, and 2 chest drawers, also a desk and small fridge. We chose the share bathroom option but there was no time we had to wait. On site there was a small kitchen which we used to make a light breakfast or make tea or coffee after having a day out. Other guests used the kitchen to make light meals. There was a drawer full of disposable plates and cutlery but plenty of cooking utensils. There was also a guest laundry and computer to use. 10 minutes walking would take you to Union Square, Chinatown gates, Market St or Bart stations, or the bus to Fishermans Wharf or North Beach. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly. Keep in mind this is an older hotel so don't expect "modern" with great views, but our room had been newly painted and for value and location you couldn't beat it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaybe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    395
    277
    112
    85
See reviews for
95
447
205
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
'Merican
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Was in San Francisco for a week at the Apple WWDC conference. Staying anywhere else nearby would have been an extra $1,000-2,000. I wasn't there for much more than sleeping, so what I did I really miss out by not staying at the Marriott? It was no-frills, but I didn't need any. It had a clean room with a fridge and desk. The windows opened. It had a nice old steam radiator to lock my computer to. There was even a full kitchen around the corner.

There are a number of poor reviews of this hotel. Ignore them. This is not a typical American hotel like the Grand Hyatt or Sheridan with pool, sauna, and day spa. This is very much like a European 2-3 star hotel.

The hotel WiFi was quite slow, but no worse than any Marriott I've ever stayed in (and I'm a Marriott Rewards Gold member, so I know). There is a Starbucks around the corner in any direction. The neighbourhood is extreme high-rent tourist shopping area. That attracts a lot of panhandlers.

I would certainly stay here again if I had to hang around downtown San Francisco for a week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlbum18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hradec Kralove, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hotel is very well located near Union square, room big enough, I sleep well, but traffic can be hear through closed windows. Super helpful and kind receptionists. I standed several nights without problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaginho007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locarno
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

room is small for 3 guests but it was clean. The location is perfect, it's very close to Union Square. Good Price for a Hotel in the center, Cable cars in Walking distance. Receptionists were very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Eveline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Two of us stayed here when we were looking for a really cheap room to attend a conference nearby. The room and halls are old, dingy, but not unclean - just worn out. It felt a bit like staying at the house of an old aunt who had recently died, but without all of the charm of any character or personal belongings. It's definitely a budget option, but in fact after booking I found several other hotels downtown with similar pricing that would have felt a little more like an actual hotel. The staff were very friendly and the location was fine.

Room Tip: The street facing rooms are loud. Even if you're from a big city, you'll find it loud - most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank escapehelicopter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here in late April for a couple of the nights.

The location is great, the service is cheery, and the price is good for SF. The wifi is also good too.

Bad points: though clean, my room was pretty drab verging on austere and the TV didn't work that well.

If you're on a budget and want a safe, no frills place to stay I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this place. If you're looking for something a bit more polished, then maybe carry on with your search.



  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RobMcNamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights. While the location is great the actual hotel is disgusting. The rooms smelt and were not clean at all, our bedsheets were made from foam and fell apart when we touched them, the furniture was out of date and broken, the TV did not turn on, the bath towels were tiny and thin, the shower had not been cleaned properly and the water was cool both times we showered. A couple of hours after checking in we went downstairs to get some advice on where to go and what to do and the girl who was working at the desk completely ignored us for about 10 minutes while she talked to her friend on the phone. The elevator in the building is one of the old ones where you pull the door open and shut and we ended up being trapped in it while it went from one level to another and didn't stop.. Our experience here was horrible, the only reason we stayed was because we already paid and we didn't plan to spend much time in our room. I wouldn't recommend anyone staying here, not even a backpacker looking for a cheap room, there would have to be better places for the price you would pay to stay here. Shocking place and will never return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sammy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,346 reviews
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#153 of 229 in San Francisco
44 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#92 of 229 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#76 of 229 in San Francisco
1,167 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#83 of 229 in San Francisco
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 325 Sutter Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 325 Sutter Hotel

Property: 325 Sutter Hotel
Address: 325 Sutter St, San Francisco, CA 94108-4387
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 325 Sutter Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 325 Sutter Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel San Francisco
Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing