We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Park Hotel
Ranked #149 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Very old hotel but it's sort of charming if you are not too picky. The location is perfect. The shared bathrooms are not too bad. What really makes this place a great option is the staff. Very helpful. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more for a room with a bathroom if you want to avoid the hostel experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jen37_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    392
    276
    112
    85
See reviews for
95
447
204
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Perfect place near Union square for basic one-night stay, easy hang-out and for food. The staff here are all very nice, at least those I met. The room feels clean and quiet enough. Please do remember to close your windows when you are out!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dingmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

stayed in an ensuite room for 4 nights. room was clean and decent, very basic but good enough if you just need a place to sleep at night. building was old and the lift was extremely old- i tried to use the stairs wherever possible. i think the hotel is on a slope, so the room was sort of slanting/sloping. the window couldnt really be shut completely- but i guess being the only form of ventilation it needed to stay ajar, and the door was kind of old but had 2 locks nevertheless.

that being said there is lots to love about this hotel. rodel, the manager was extremely helpful and familiar with the area- he told me the places/things to do... and which public transportation to use. eric was helpful as well. the location couldnt be more perfect- just a stones throw from union square and all the shopping that you want to get done. there is even a city target about a 10 minute walk away that i simply loved. there is lots of food all around, and a nice french bakery just down the street.

i don't think at $99/night it is exceedingly cheap, but i guess compared to other hotels around that area- it is much more affordable.

i would recommend this to anyone who needs something basic in an excellent location for a decent price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelstalways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

The location is great, you are a few minutes away from the Union Square. Don't take the shared bathroom, it's terrible. The rooms with your own bathroom are clean. It an old hotel. I can recommand it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Ivana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for a week and it almost felt like home for me. As my boyfriend was working, i explored the city on my own. The park's location right behind union square was great for this with loads of shops, bus routes and chinaown close by. I felt really safe to walk around and Rodel was so helpful, he had a great sollution for every question i had. The room was exactly what i wanted, clean, well appointed with a nice bathroom and plenty of space. I wasn't expecting there to be a kitchen, but this too was excellently equipped and a real bonus, as were the laundry facilities. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the park hotel to anyone, especially travellers on a budget who nevertheless maintain high standards

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rowjameson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Nice little hotel in the heart of the city. Easy to reach all tourist spots (close to China town). Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was small but clean and at a great price for what can be an expensive city. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I can't say enough good things about the staff at this hotel. They really made our stay! They were fantastic at telling us the best places to go and things to see and giving us the tips on getting great discounts at local restaurants etc. They also helped us to get to the airport by shuttle bus (highly recommended, especially if you did as much shopping as we did!).
We felt really secure in the room. We had a room with a bathroom which was immaculately clean. The room was quiet and overlooked a light-well so it was bright and airy.
As others have said, the room was basic with just a bed, chair and a TV with a couple of channels, but it was perfect for our needs (we were out all day every day).
There is even a share kitchen if you wanted to cook something, but there were so many great restaurants around, we didn't use it.
Fabulous all round!

Room Tip: Get a room with a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank KayteeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#135 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Union Square
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
Touchstone Hotel - City Center
#138 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#59 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#77 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Stratford
Hotel Stratford
#104 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Union Square
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
Mystic Hotel by Charlie Palmer
#86 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: 325 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel San Francisco
Park San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing