We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COOL & UNIQUE”

GoCar GPS Guided Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$69.00*
and up
Go San Francisco Card
More Info
$64.16*
and up
San Francisco GoCar Tour
More Info
$69.00*
and up
San Francisco Explorer Pass
Ranked #47 of 289 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: GoCar, the World’s First Storytelling CarFold up the map – put away the guidebook – and prepare for a city adventure you won’t soon forget! These clever yellow talking convertibles navigate for you, point out the sights, and tell you about the city’s culture and history. But that’s not all – your GoCar mobile tour guide has a personality and a human voice – it cracks jokes, recommends the good restaurants, and tells you the stories that bring the city to life. It’s like having a “local” give you a private guided tour.GoCar gives clear driving directions using GPS satellite technology. Just follow the friendly audio directions and relax!
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“COOL & UNIQUE”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

You can see things in these modified motorcycles other tourists never could. The cars take a bit of getting used to, and they can be temperamental, so make sure you watch the orientation video and ask a lot of questions before you head out. Matthias was very good with customer service. Don't forget to squeeze the handbrake as part of the engine starting process.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank He-Bro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    181
    56
    35
    65
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great time - our SFO highlight”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It was our second visit in SFO, and this time we were with some friends which were at their first visit. We were going to use the traditional sightseeing tours - ( hop and off or tour bus) - when some friends suggested Go Cars .. why not? It was different for us which already saw the city and a good way to discover SFO for both couples--There are 2 stations to rent your cars- either Union square or Fisherman's wharf ( the one we used) -The go car has an audio GPS which tells you where to go and what you see ( if you are in the wrong direction - it also tells you and you have a map to help you out) - After watching a little video which explain how everything work - we choose our helmet and were ready to go. We took the 2 hours route. Cost was $125 insurance included. We visited beaches, fisherman's wharf- golden gate park - Presidio - palace of fine art - golden gate bridge lookout etc..... and of course they drove down the famous Lombard street - You should see people taking pictures of us - we felt like superstars. I also have to thank the SFO drivers which were very courteous , polite and careful--We were 2 go cars following each other and sometimes we arrived at a STOP , people let us passed, so we were not separated by another car . There is only one driver who told us to get out of the road (??? oh well a tourist I guess hahaha) We did a great, safe, wonderful tour and If you want to do something special , informative, interesting and unusual - well, just try it --I will for sure look in the next big city we will visit if Go Cars is present

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Praline23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun Way to Sightsee!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a very fun way to see all of San Francisco. I felt perfectly safe (maybe because my husband was driving and not me) and the recorded tour keeps up well with where you are. It is easy to stop, surprisingly easy to get up Nod Hill and everywhere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pachyfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nerve-wracking fun but wrap up warm!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

The go cars only have small engines so don't go very fast but it feels like you are tearing along as you are so low to the ground!
If you see the passenger with their arm around the driver it isn't because they are being romantic, it's because there isn't room for their arm to fit between the two of them!
We went along Fishermans Wharf and Crissy Field to the Golden Gate Bridge but as we were pootling along the fog started rolling in and by the time we got to the bridge car park it was so foggy we couldn't see the bridge. The fog also brought in the cold so we were shivering.
The turning circle isn't very small so we had to wait for a cop to move out of our way to turn in! Also, there isn't a reverse gear so the passenger has to push the car backwards!
Returning through the city was an experience! Drivers of other vehicles were very courteous and gave us plenty of room.
If you go off route the GPS stops working but picks up again as you get back on track. You miss a lot of what is being said as you are concentrating more on the traffic and the road signs.
All in all it's a fun way of seeing San Francisco but take layers to stay warm.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Schwing10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Awesome for Locals/Tourists Alike!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Cannot say enough good things about my experience.

My friend (local) and I (complete tourist) picked up a GoCar in the morning and were beyond bummed to learn that they were not open later so we could deliver the car back around 10 ;) We rode around San Fran ALL DAY with still so much left to see. Then, we came back THE NEXT DAY and did it all over again.

A few things to note:
We upgraded, so the car had a bit more pick-up than a regular one. This was super helpful because we kept up with all the traffic in and around the city. Highways and bridges are not allowed, which was fine by us because the navigation (you have the option of turning the tourguide - we named her Violet - on/off) took us to some killer photo-perfect spots.
Parking downtown was awesome because we got to park in a bike spot (if you can find one!).
Look for a coupon online - we used one for the first day, and the staff was so accommodating when we came back the second day that they knocked some off of the price. Thanks guys!
Totally worth it to do more than three hours - I wouldn't do it if you just had an hour to spare. Simply not enough time to see everything there is to see.
Get ready to answer a lot of questions. Every time we were parked or stopped, someone came over to inquire about how fast it goes, how much per hour, and if the dogs (yes, we brought dogs along) were enjoying themselves.

Cannot wait to come back to SF and do this again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Txgalintn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GoCar GPS Guided Tours also viewed

 

Been to GoCar GPS Guided Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing