We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Place to Lay Your Head!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Beach Motel
Ranked #215 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just a Place to Lay Your Head!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you are just looking for a room to sleep in, then this is it! The "free" parking and proximity to Ocean Beach are the best assets of this motel. Although the room was cleaned to the best of the staff's ability, the room had visible mold residue around the bathroom window, paint chippings, rusted sower head and very worn curtains that were hard to close completely. The heater did not work and we couldn't contact the motel desk, because they close at 10:00p.m. and it was 10:30p.m., when we arrived back to retire for the evening. There were no extra blankets in the room and one very thin one on the bed. We froze! The street car noise was apparent, but not so troubling for us, however, very loud sounds of what appeared to be gunfire occurred three times that night (another family member had a room two doors down and they heard them as well and called, because they were so loud). Before leaving, I informed the desk clerk (manager?) that the room had no heat and he said, "Oh I know what that is about." He then told me that he had "turned it off" for the last person in that room and hadn't turned it back on. No apologies, no reduction on night's stay, etc. Oh well...

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    7
    8
    10
    29
See reviews for
10
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Clean rooms, but lots of small things could be repaired or improved. Noisy, due to streetcars and bar, but close to beach and transportation. Not particularly friendly service. Free parking. which is nice, so you don't have to move the car for early morning street cleaning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MCR61_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The motel looks very nice inside, clean and spacious. It has a mini fridge and microwave. The manager was nice and attentive. The location is close to Ocean Beach. It is in Sunset District, in a residential neighborhood.

The motel did not look appealing at first, but the inside is nice. The manager said that they will remodel the facility. So I guess it will be even better in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Pros - A good cleaning staff, a bright bathroom (not nice, just bright due to it having a skylight), easy access to the Muni (see below), and proximity card locks on the doors. It is near the beach and only a couple blocks from Golden Gate Park. The bed was actually OK (no bed bugs), if you can get to sleep.

Cons - LOUD! The rooms are about 50 feet from the Muni train line and they run from early morning till midnight or so. So every few minutes the room literally shakes as a train loudly goes by. Additionally, the hotel is over a bar, so loud and enebriated patrons spend the night outside yelling at each other till closing time around 2 am. The room itself was very old and run down. The entirety of the available power outlets were on a power strip running from behind the dresser. The window to the fire escape has a pretty wimpy latch, and should be pretty easy to open from outside. Luckily it's on the front of the building.

My wife didn't sleep the first night due to the noise, and we abandoned our paid room for something better before the second night. DON'T GO HERE unless you can sleep through a war.

Room Tip: Read other's reviews - if we had we'd have never gone to this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
269 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Doing the aids walk tomorrow so decided to stay the night to avoid the crowds and parking nightmare tomorrow. This was one of the only places left. I was $138 for the night which I didn't mind until we checked in. Room is so small the door bangs into the fridge when trying to come or go. Smashed mirror in bathroom and the wall heater does not have an off button. We got the last room so no use trying to change.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cityboy_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband ONLY because it was near the bay to breakers finish line. We didn't have many options and figured we wouldn't be in the room much at all... How bad can it be?

Terrible! I literally made myself sick because of how stressed out I was. The hotel is right next to a dive bar which made it very loud. We couldn't get our furnace to turn off. After calling the front desk repeatedly with no answer, my husband walked down. The employee told him to turn the pilot light off and said he had heart surgery so couldn't help. He also couldn't answer the phone?

Besides being hot and loud, the room had extremely old furniture. There was mold growing in the bathroom and the mirror was cracked and held together by masking tape. We took all the blankets off the bed as a precautionary measure and covered our pillows with our extra clothes.

At 6 am, there was a crash on our door like someone ran into it. I jumped up and freaked out. When I went back to bed I noticed there was a stain at the bottom of the sheet and I thought I was bleeding. I wasn't bleeding but there was blood on the sheet. Multiple splotches 1.5 in by 2 in.

We left for bay to breakers immediately and told the same hotel guy when we got back. He said we should have called because there was nothing to do now. But really, if we called he probably wouldn't have answered anyways.

I now need to fumigate my clothes and pray that I didn't catch a disease.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ellenpierpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The reservation process was quite easy, although the 48 hour cancellation notice is a bit annoying. We changed our plans as our vacation progressed and there was nothing we could do, so we accepted that. Upon arrival, we found the room to be older, but pretty clean and functional. The beds didn't appear to have bugs and there wasn't mold growing up the walls. We had a view of the ocean from our room, as well as a view of the streetcars that run down the street outside our window.

The heater was turned all the way down and we still had to leave a window open to regulate the temperature. Luckily one window did actually open, while the other almost fell off the third story when we tried to open it.

The sheets appeared clean and the bedspreads were fine. We couldn't sleep at all our first night due to all the noise from the street as well as the streetcars that passed on regular intervals. We chose to sleep on the floor of a friend for the second night so that we could actually sleep one of our nights during our stay in the city. We chalked the extra cost up to a casualty of poor planning. It would be well worth it to pay the extra dollars to stay at a bit more respectable hotel where one can actually sleep.

Room Tip: Choose one at a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RyGuy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Francisco
Haight-Ashbury
Stanyan Park Hotel
Stanyan Park Hotel
#158 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Encore Express Hotel
#131 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
The Castro
Twin Peaks Hotel
Twin Peaks Hotel
#175 of 233 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Inn
San Francisco Inn
#141 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Hayes Valley
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/Civic Center Area
Days Inn San Francisco Downtown/...
#114 of 233 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Motel

Property: Beach Motel
Address: 4211 Judah St, at 47th Ave, San Francisco, CA 94122-1026
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Sunset
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Beach Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Beach Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing