We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luella was fantastic!”
Review of Luella - CLOSED

Luella
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Russian Hill
Cross street: Green Street
Transit: The Hyde Street cable car stops right out front at Green Street.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Luella was fantastic!”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Enjoyed everything - trip advisor was right on the money with this one. I had cola braised pork shoulder with white bean puree and my husband had deconstructed wellington with bone marrow butter which he is still raving about 2 days later. Highlight for us was the relaxed service even though we def. came an hour before closing...

Also - I had a fantastic wine from Spain but I can't recall the name. 2 enthusiastic thumbs up!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“SHORT RIB LASAGNA!!!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

If you are searching for one of the best and creative lasagnas, try the fabulous short rib lasagna at Luella. Besides this entrée, you'll find the ambience captures that local Russian Hill neighborhood feel. Service is very good and the menu is equally creative.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnnnita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

When you want a great evening with quality food, cooked from fresh ingredients yet with a gourmet touch head for Luella. A chef/owner Ben DeVries who makes the kitchen hum produces a wonderful selection from the signature Coca Cola braised beef shoulder to fish tacos, salmon etc. Leah provides great recommendations for wine of which there are many selections by the glass.
This is a Russian Hill gem.
Friendly warm and attentive service with great food --- what more could you ask for?
I have recommended this restaurant to many friends for personal as well as business dinners and ALL have come away raving -- this is a welcome break from the commercial chains in SF... Drop in and have a great meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 505sailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable beef wellington”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the third year in a row that we've been in SF on business. The first year, we found Luella by accident. Last year & again this year, we searched them out intentionally! The Beef Wellington is to die for!! I crave it & wish I could hop on a plane for the weekend just to go eat there. It's a quaint little restaurant on Hyde St. Service is good & we look forward to eating there on return trips.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank minitraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Excellent Food”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I were visiting San Francisco and we were staying in Nob Hill. We strolled down a few blocks and came across Luella's, and what a great find! We've been coming to San Francisco for 16 years and frankly the food scene for us has been hit or miss with more misses than hits. Thankfully, Luella's was a hit! The hostess was excellent, the menu options were varied and the flavors were fantastic. We got to meet the Ben the Chef and he was delightful. We will definitely come back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luella also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing