We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Escape”

Mission Dolores Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Explore The Mission District with Optional Lunch
Ranked #47 of 542 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the city's most popular park located between the Mission District and the Castro/Noe Valley neighborhoods. On sunny afternoons people flock to the park to play, picnic, lounge, walk their dogs, and enjoy spectacular views of the city's skyline and beyond. Please remember to pack out your trash, use cans instead of glass, and don't leave cigarette butts behind. This is a Leave no Trace park and bins are located around the perimeter of the park.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Portsmouth, VA
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Escape”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My husband and I loved coming to this park to take a break from sightseeing in the Mission District. There are also great views of the city from the top of the hill. From what we hear, it is also a popular place with the locals. We ate at the Dolores Park Cafe, which had very reasonable sandwiches and a local vibe.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank PT0wnTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    172
    50
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Howell
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Chill spot”
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Such a cool place to hang out and relax with friends. Great people watching oppurtunities. Grab a few brews and kick it.

Helpful?
Thank ElvaMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful. New playground. Great for a picnic.”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

While staying in San Francisco we enjoyed walking to Dolores Park, bringing Tartine, Bi-rite or other goodies with us. The playground is new and large. The park is high enough to get sunny more often than some other parts of the City. Supposedly there's a great food truck too but it never made an appearance when we were there. What we did see was a naked guy lying on on a blanket. My tween daughter said, "That guy is naked. That should not be legal." And I said, "Maybe, but it *is* legal." And she ran off to stand in line for the swings.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank collette2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
763 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“The perfect temperature and atmosphere on sunny days”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Really nice, really big park that's the perfect temperature and atmosphere on sunny days!

And one fantastic thing about California generally... no open container laws!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ajhorse21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redwood City, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for people watching”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

If people watching is your thing, Dolores Park is the place to do it. Everything from hipsters to homeless people and dogs to ice cream carts. Good place to enjoy SF sun (when it's out).

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Dolores Park also viewed

 

Been to Mission Dolores Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing