We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Nob Hill SF weekend”

Mark Hopkins Inter-Continental Hotel
Ranked #839 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Nob Hill
Cross street: California & Mason Streets
Transit: Powell Street Cable Car; California Street Cable Car
San Luis Obispo, California, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous Nob Hill SF weekend”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights at the Mark Hopkins in January. It is a beautiful hotel with a very helpful staff. The location is the absolute best because it is easy to get all around the city. The cable car runs right by the hotel, but it is a short walk to Union Square, China Town, North Beach, etc. Walking up the steep hills back to the hotel could be an issue for some, but we loved it.

Helpful?
1 Thank GratitudeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    55
    27
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Better than its downtown cousin”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Having stayed at the Howard Street Intercontinental, it was my intention to return. Bizarrely, it was $100 more expensive that the Mark Hopkins so a no-brainer - save money, better location.

Service was impeccable, being Gold Ambassador I got an upgrade to a suite so I was very happy.

Beautiful historic hotel, perfect for Chinatown or downtown - but the walk back is bracing. Take a cab or the cable car........

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Revisit an Historic Landmark”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

"The Mark" is clearly rebuilding itself and its services; a long overdue comeback for this classic landmark. Rooms are a tad old-school, but not worn. The decor, service, amenities and je-ne-sais-quois (attitude) that make a good hotel into a great hotel are returning. The views from many of the rooms are stunning. You can feel the history of The West, California, and SF when you walk these halls.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pentwater, Michigan
Level Contributor
92 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

There isn't one thing that we didn't like in our 6 days and 5 nights. Just a wonderful- classy Hotel.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank proach1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quality hotel but service needs improving.”
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at the Mark Hopkins on two separate visits in Oct/Nov. The checkin process on both visits was very efficient. Room was excellent and we were upgraded to a higher floor on our second visit. On our first visit the fridge was not working but another one was provided when we contacted the front desk. Breakfast at the Top of the Mark was excellent but very expensive. $75 for one Light Beginning Buffet and a Mark Hopkins Buffet. After reading a previous review here I am fairly sure we were overcharged. The Mark was the only hotel we stayed in during our 5 week visit that did not include Wi Fi. When we checked out on a last visit we left a message at the front desk for the porter but no one came up to the room so my husband had to call again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coasttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mark Hopkins Inter-Continental Hotel also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Mark Hopkins Inter-Continental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing