We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolute chocolate factory”

The Original Ghirardelli Chocolate Manufactory
Ranked #5 of 146 Dessert in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolute chocolate factory”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We could not pass up a treat from this chocolate alley!! It was a bit crowded and lines were long, but the free samples and the banana split made up for the wait! My husband had the salted caramel hot chocolate. Beware it's very sweet, but worth your insulin shot!! :)

Helpful?
Thank SNKmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    617
    422
    150
    58
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“A Lovely Tourist Trap!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

OM NOM NOM. Stuffing my face with chocolate and ice cream!

Every time I go to San Francisco (and it's been a bunch of times), I come by Ghiradelli to get a chocolate sample from the employee at the entrance and a sundae. (Hint: If you come after 1pm, the upstairs cashier is open. Shorter lines at that entrance as well as another employee giving out chocolate samples!).

You're probably thinking, "But Howard, my arteries!! Chocolate and ice cream with toffee, butterscotch, and caramel? How will I survive?!" Hey, you're life may have been cut a little bit shorter by a visit to this place, but it definitely got a lot tastier!

Just a quick price note: Sundaes are about $10 each and the chocolate isn't cheap either. There's some SF guides out there that have a 10% off coupon for purchases at Ghiradelli.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
383 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
“OK chocolate, massively overcrowded & noisy tourist trap”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Our group of five made the mistake of coming here for dessert/hot chocolate on a Saturday night, about 9pm. Bottoms line-OK chocolate, but NOT worth the wait or noisy crowds, and good luck finding a table. Lots of vanilla ice cream options, but very few with chocolate, and only brownies and candy from the counter, no cake, pies, chocolate dipped fruits, etc. There was a line out the door and not enough tables. Many people were eating while standing...not fun! Wait for food was long, but it gave us time to find a small table and crowd around it. Very noisy and crowded, with tables practically on top of each other. Server messed up our order, but understandable given the crowds and craziness. Desserts were OK, but not worth the price. Much better, less pricey, and tasty options in Houston. Won't bring our kids here when we visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sugarlandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
125 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Chocolate Heaven!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Ghirardelli Ice Cream & Chocolate Shop is a must while visiting SF. The location is amazing and just a short walk from Fisherman´s Wharf and Pier 39. They give you samples at the door as you walk into the chocolate store and the ice cream shop. Delicious, delicious, delicious! I have been there on several occasions and have enjoyed quite a few things there such as their cable car sundae and a salted caramel hot chocolate. You cannot beat their chocolate on or in any item on the menu. If you are there with a group of 5 or more, definitely go for the Earthquake which is a mountain of different ice cream flavors with delicious toppings and fruit. It is definitely one for the books. Take a before and after picture like we did. It´s awesome. I will post a picture later on. They also have a to go shop up the block from this location which is convenient when there is a long line. There are many unique shops at Ghirardelli square which are worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Just Outside Nashvegas, TN
Level Contributor
146 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Chocolate and Ice Cream...Oh my!”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

DH and I stopped in for an afternoon treat and we could not have picked a better place. The service was super speedy.
We shared the Sea Salt and Carmel sundae and it was perfect. The hot fudge was the best I have ever had. I really wanted a spatula to get all the remainder it was so good. If you are up to it, get your own. But, beware they are 7-10 bucks ( estimate) each so it can get expensive quick.
The shop is about halfway up the hill on North Point, if you are walking in from Fisherman's Wharf.
I can't wait to return!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ROLLTIDE8401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Ghirardelli Chocolate Manufactory also viewed

 

Been to The Original Ghirardelli Chocolate Manufactory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing