We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine if you are staying nearby”

Seal Rock Inn Restaurant
Ranked #1,272 of 5,666 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $15 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: The Richmond
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Fine if you are staying nearby”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

But not worth a special trip. Good food, American diner, not gourmet. Super omelets that made a great lunch. Good service, decent prices.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    38
    21
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Omelets!”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Such a treat--and the local sourdough for toast was perfect! Separate business from the hotel, so not billable to your room.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank strude86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting Menu. Good Portions. Good Food.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I ate here many times for breakfast during a week at Seal Rock Inn, and once at lunch – but only once because I was working when they closed at 4 p.m.

I loved the breakfasts here. Nice portions. Very good sourdough toast. Fantastic hash browns. Solid oatmeal. Delicious hot chocolate. Tasty french toast. All at affordable prices.

The setting is nice too. It's Old School, No Frills, with a touch of Greek Influence. And a great sense of Local History.

If you want to see some incredible things, walk across Point Lobos Avenue after eating here. Check out Sutro Heights Park. Hike the Golden Gate Park Trail. Explore the ruins of the Sutro Baths. Soak in the majesty of the bold, blue Pacific.

Amazing area here. Really rustic and mysterious and powerful. The only downside? All the damn fog.

Then again, all the more reason to head back inside here. And grab another hot chocolate. With extra whipped cream.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dylan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
133 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Depends on which waitress you have”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed at Seal Rock Inn so had breakfast there three different mornings. The first waitress was so friendly, seemed happy to see us, and actually interacted with us a bit, casual conversation. Unfortunately the other two days we had a somewhat grouchy, almost surly waitress who seemed annoyed that we came, and perhaps she'd prefer to be anywhere but there. What a difference in attitudes - I wonder how she keeps her job there. Omelettes were good; coffee very blah; waffle very crispy to the point of being overcooked but I resolved it with slathering of butter and drowning of syrup. Location is super - with great views. But atmosphere needs improving, at least with one employee.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank culdesacSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
254 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Above average diner food, but terrible service.”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This could be one of my only 5 star restaurants, if only the service wasn't always terrible. The food is high quality, and reasonably priced. The tables near the windows offer views of Sutro and the ocean. However, every time I go there, whether it is busy or not, I can't get anyone to bring water or coffee, take my order, or bring a check. The last time was a couple of weeks , on a fairly quiet afternoon. We were in the restaurant for over an hour, although from the time we ordered until we finished eating was less than fifteen minutes. The rest of the time, we were just waiting for service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank micchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seal Rock Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Seal Rock Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing