We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stop in Little Italy!”

Stella Pastry and Cafe
Ranked #6 of 118 Bakeries in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Barrington, Illinois, United States
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Stop in Little Italy!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

The candy store a few doors done recommended this as we were looking for a good cannoli while visiting the North Beach area... They suggested Stella's!

It was so good, not over priced and we enjoyed them in their couple table outdoor area.

Definitely worth the stop!

Helpful?
Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    64
    16
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“There is nothing not to like and everything to like.”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Simplicity at its best. A couple of tables, a good coffee machine and choose your sweet. Just go and enjoy and don't worry about the calories, or if you are worried, have one cookie, I dare you, just one. Great spot, great atmosphere for quick in and out and a San Francisco landmark, at least in my mind.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pchips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Place Next Door”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Where to get a snack if you're staying at Hotel Boheme! Lots of locals coming & going, great coffee.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Moirvae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We love everything here! From the cookies to the canoli! It's all good so - go and enjoy! Run! Don't walk and have a coffee and canoli for me. ;)

Helpful?
Thank CA_Blond_SFO
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Virginia Beach
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful little pasticceria in North Beach”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Whenever we visit San Francisco, my wife and I head to Victoria's pastry shop at he corner of Stockton and Vallejo in North Beach. Alas, we found last week that it had morphed into a Chinese grocery store. Dismayed, we soon found Stella just a couple of blocks away. Stella is a very small pasticceria, mainly takeaway with just a couple of small tables. We scored the one in the window and nursed our coffee and sfogliatelle as long as we could while watching life's passing pageant on Columbus Avenue. The pastries are as varied and tasty as any we've had anywhere. We were served by a very pleasant young lady (wish I could remember her name) who, when I mentioned our Victoria's quest toldus that Stella was owned by the same people and that Victoria's had opened in a new location. Now we have two favorite spots for good Italian pastry and coffee.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Itinerant65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stella Pastry and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stella Pastry and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing