We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good”
Review of Kim Thanh

Kim Thanh
Ranked #877 of 5,741 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Vietnamese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“pretty good”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Came here on a Wednesday night with a party of 5. I ordered "combination rice noodle soup" so I thought it was a giant pho but it wasn't. It was the noodles with a few pieces of shrimp and fish. It was ok, not what I was expecting but it was still good. A friend had the char chicken? And that was good. The imperial roll was good, very similar to spring rolls but just slightly different. The place has a really selection because it's Chinese and Viet but I feel like the Viet portion isn't true Viet food

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tammybearx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    53
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Unexpected delight!”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We were given this restaurant as a tip from the concierge at our hotel the Monaco a couple of blocks away. This is a serious no frills place and we are by no means knowledgeable about real Chinese/Vietnamese food. No problem as we were just given our menus and just expected to dive in which is exactly what we did and it was wonderful. We actually felt guilty after we ordered a bottle of wine as we soon realised that 90% of the other diners had no alcohol at all as they were only there for the food!
If you need good advice just ask Kenny ,a real gentleman who knows his food!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Evry time I visit sfo I go here great seafood, simple service but very nice, great seafood for the dollar. Clean and fresh but still little ruff, my type of style

Helpful?
1 Thank Fredrik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“It was Okay. A Little Fishy Smelling”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I didn't have their popular salted crab dish so maybe that was the problem. Had Mongolian Beef and it wasn't the greatest have had better in my home town. White rice was an extra charge which always surprises me. I wouldn't go back.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nalacalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Go where locals go!”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

I have garlic crab in Singapore - so much better here at Kim Thanh!!! The crabs are so fresh (taken from tanks that are so clean) - lots of garlic and flavor! We also had the garlic noodles which were so good. As an appetizer we had the shrimp and pork roll which reminded us of Vietnam . And finally, we had Vietnamese pork which was better than any dish we had in Vietnam . Service was great, low key place - food is great.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kim Thanh also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Kim Thanh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing