We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, great food, great prices”
Review of Kim Thanh

Kim Thanh
Ranked #917 of 5,712 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Vietnamese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great food, great prices”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Get the fried quail...such a treat! We also loved the curries and anything in a clay pot is delicious

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephgwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    51
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

You don't go here for ambiance but the food is just great. We got the garlic noodles on others' recommendations. It was good, but not as good as the waiter's recommendation of lemongrass chicken--outstanding. We also had the honey walnut prawns since we know the kids will eat those. And a cod dish that was also wonderful. The poster who said average ordered wrong (food that's meant for tourists). Just ask the waiter what to order, he won't lead you astray. Fast service. Recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karas310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Second visit to SF and return patron”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Again had to have my seafood fix at Kim Thanh. We were there twice in a week like the last trip. Crabs were excellent, salt baked and delicious. Also tried the steamed whole prawns and they were awesome. Best fresh seafood in Union Square area. Unpretentious setting but really great food.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank aussiegirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Baked Salted Crab”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

The place was clean and the service, while not friendly, was quick and efficient. Their menu is a la carte, so you have to order everything separate. The fried wontons were super light and crispy, the sweet and sour chicken was disgusting (my husbands dinner), but the baked, salted crab, holy crap what a party in my mouth!! I'm from Florida, I never order crab out of state (hello have you had our stone crab?), but I ordered this based on numerous recommendations. Tender, sweet, salty. I danced in my seat, I tickled the claws and....damn now I wanna fly back to Cali for some more....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok for a hungry tourist”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Clean and nice service, very average food, ordered combination chow fun, god but greasy. Deep fried frog not worth it, hit an soit soup below average. Chow mein average...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kim Thanh also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Kim Thanh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing