We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the bay with good food. At the end of Pier 39.”

Neptune’s Waterfront Grill & Bar
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Cross street: The Embarcadero
Transit: Cable Car: Powell-Mason Line connects downtown via North Beach, Columbus Avenue & Fisherman’s Wharf District Powell-Hyde Line connects downtown SF via Hyde Street (Crookedest Street in the World); terminus at Beach Street Trolley: F Market & Wharves; PIER 39 station Cab: Taxi line drop/pick up at entrance to PIER
Description: Featuring authentic, classically prepared San Francisco cuisine with contemporary flair. Neptune's is the perfect place for an intimate dinner for two, an evening out with a group of family and friends, or business entertaining. With wall-to-wall windows and breathtaking panoramic views of the iconic Golden Gate Bridge, the Marin Headlands, Sausalito and historic Alcatraz as your backdrop, Neptune's Waterfront Grill & Bar delivers both great food and the best bay views! Menu items range from flame grilled to pan seared quality meats and seafood to handmade California stone-baked flatbreads, fresh salads, warming soups and comforting sides -- something for everyone! Neptune's Waterfront Grill & Bar features a full bar/lounge. We're located upstairs at the scenic end of Pier 39! Come for the view, stay for the food!
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great view of the bay with good food. At the end of Pier 39.”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you are going to have lunch on Pier 39, this restaurant gives you a great view of the bay and a good meal. We had a late lunch here - the restaurant was about half full and we got a window table. Seating was comfortable - and we were ready for a leisurely lunch after a long SF walk. The waiter was very friendly and helpful; food came quickly and was very good. We had fish stew and a fish and chips plate - both were well prepared.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FrequentTraveller51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    205
    112
    57
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph
Level Contributor
202 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great view of the sea lions!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had lunch here and the menu is very good. They have a great sea food menu and the quality and quantity is good. The prices are a bit high but the view of the bay and the sea lions playing right outside the window is worth it. The service, though was very slow and we had to ask twice for our bill and still waited a while to get it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rmpaul1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
152 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pretty views and horrible food!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

The food was just bad. I had the fish and chips and the fish must have been frozen. It was mushy and fishy. The batter made it worse! The salads were over dressed and lettuce was limp. They also did not have good beer choices, which is surprising with all the micro brews around.

Would never recommend this place... Even with the views...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tucker1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good food with fantastic view”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

As you probably already know, this restaurant is located at the Fishermen's Wharf on Pier 39. Situated on the upper level of the plaza, it offers fantastic view of the bay, the bridge, and the sea lions sunbathing nearby. We had lunch here after walking several hours along the bay, shopping and taking pictures. It was really nice and relaxing to sit down in a spacious restaurant view the beautiful view, especially my 3 year old daughter who kept talking about the sea lions.

I see quite a few fellow reviewers here didn't like the food. But we actually enjoyed it. We mostly ordered some sandwiches and pastas and we all liked our food. The portion is also pretty good. Maybe it's because I am not a food connoisseur and I just wanted to have a decent simple lunch. But our family did enjoyed both the food and the service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Terrific view; terrible food”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I had one day in the city to explore and find a great place to enjoy seafood. I wanted to watch the sun go down behind the Golden Gate so walked out Pier 39 on Fisherman's Wharf all the way to the end, where I found this restaurant. It had great exposure to the bay and the bridge so I dined there. I had the worst seafood stew I've ever had, lukewarm, poorly seasoned, expensive even if it had been any good, and served indifferently.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terrytravels1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neptune’s Waterfront Grill & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing