We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would be my local hang-out - if I was a local...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Harvey's

Harvey's
Ranked #213 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Castro
Prangins, Switzerland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Would be my local hang-out - if I was a local...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had to wait 20 minutes for a table, so that was a good sign. We had sandwiches for lunch - Santa Fe wrap was interesting, presentation was nice, with quality and fresh ingredients. The atmosphere was good, always people coming and going with many visitors, some foreign clientele as well. Cross your fingers that you get George as a waiter - he is very calm, friendly and accommodating. Some of the other wait staff seemed a bit too disdainful for a place like this.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toltriaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    119
    41
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fun place for a casual dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is the quintessential Castro experience. A really cool place to hang out. Great place for people watching. When we were there the place was packed but we didn't mind sitting at the bar for our light dinner. The food was not bad and menu has a good selection of American and Mexican dishes. All the staff are very nice. They even had a drag queen hosting a fun trivia game. We really had a great time. Highly recommended by travelers and locals from this community, we were glad we visited this place which has a rich history in the Castro district.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouC151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilds of New Jersey
Level Contributor
206 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not a bad hang-out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Location is everything here. Neither the food nor the service is anything to write home about. But it is a pleasant respite after a day of exploring, and the cold drinks helped a lot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

In the heart of Castro is this gem of a restaurant. We went for brunch on our last day and I wish we had gone before. Food was excellent and the atmosphere and general vide perfect.
Staff very friendly and service good.
A must eat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Great place to get a sandwich and tasty beer. Really nice place to sit and people watch in the heart of castro. My turkey burger was tasty and there was a good selection of food on menu. To our surprise there was Belgium wheat beer on tap.

Helpful?
Thank Leonardo R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Harvey's also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Harvey's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing