We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, customer service okay.”

Gaylord India Restaurant
Ranked #3,128 of 5,645 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Financial District
Cross street: Sacramento/ Battery
Transit: Bart and Muni
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, customer service okay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Food was very good - we had the eggplant, cottage cheese and some salad. They lacked in customer service.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank yokaup22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    9
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Indian cuisine in San Francisco”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

Wandering around Embarcadero for some Indian food and ran into this place. Looked nice from outside with those brass vessels and antiques. The place lacked the tinge freshness. Looked old, and the table clothes were in need of some work. The beer that I ordered was so flat, like drinking water.They served pappadams and mint sauce which was good. The food was overall good, the bread seems to be pre-cooked and not made fresh. Overall an ok place to eat and for the price that we paid, we expected more.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anainar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“okay but can do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

we eat a lot of curry. pappadams, naan were good. Okra dish was mush, it needs to be pan fried. Chicken Jalfrazie was tasteless, had to ask for some chili and pickle

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank olioaceto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good food, well served and good value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

Gaylords has been in the Embarcadero for well over 20 years and has outlived all of its competitors including Scotts and McDonald's. The food is consistently tasty and well prepared, portions are large and price is very reasonable. The service is attentive and prompt. We needed a quick bite before a movie and got just what we needed.

This is well worth a trip for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Eat at your own risk”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Boy has this place slipped...dirty rooms, sub-par Indian food, and lazy wait staff all collide. My plate and knife had oily smear on them (not kidding). The food was cold and seemed to be reheated.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johndhenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaylord India Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Gaylord India Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing