We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and good beer selection” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grumpy's American Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Grumpy's American Pub
Ranked #1,958 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Bar, American, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: North Beach / Telegraph Hill
Shillington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food and good beer selection”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stopped by for lunch and a beer one day during my visit. Friendly wait staff and good food to choose from. I'd recommend the buffalo sandwich. Garlic fries are also awesome!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chad C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    16
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Memphis
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended Burgers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Found this place while wandering around looking for a place to eat lunch. We were a little hesitant but decided it would be better than Subway around the corner. We both tried different burgers and was not disappointed. Their burgers rank in the top 3 of my all time favorites. The onion rings and fries were equally delicious.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheGaddys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
196 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Nothing grumpy about it.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stumbled upon this simple, small pub at happy hour while we were walking back to our hotel from the Embarcadero. The drink specials were great, bartender was friendly, and there was a pleasant crowd of 20/30-somethings enjoying the small outdoor seating area. It's a terrific place to relax with a few drinks and a decent pub meal at a reasonable price.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Good hamburgers and a nice vibe. It's a small restaurant so get here early if you want a seat. My favorite seat is at...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2008

Good hamburgers and a nice vibe. It's a small restaurant so get here early if you want a seat. My favorite seat is at the bar.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“The ultimate hangover cure: a patty melt and a Guinness. Yeah, that's right. I gave this more stars than Aqua or...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2007

The ultimate hangover cure: a patty melt and a Guinness. Yeah, that's right. I gave this more stars than Aqua or Boulevard. What of it?

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grumpy's American Pub also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Grumpy's American Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing