We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sushi, nice ambiance” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi Boat Restaurant

Sushi Boat Restaurant
Ranked #226 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Union Square
Pisa, Italy
Level Contributor
141 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good sushi, nice ambiance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

They serve a good variety of food; not the best sushi I tried but nonetheless good and rather cheap. The place is nice, especially the boats floating in the water that carry the dishes with some ready made fish. It is quite cheap at lunch, a bit more expensive at dinner (as usual), so I would suggest to visit it by lunchtime. Food selection is large and service attentive.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TongBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    147
    67
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

I enjoyed the whole "boat' concept but the food was pretty average and the price probably more than I would of like to pay.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank johnsydaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
145 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“That was slow..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

Ok:
- sushi and tea was ok;
Bad:
- very, very slow service on a bar boat!
(chef making priority for the orders and renew s sushi plates on the boat very very and very slow)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Konstantin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
137 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Many locals.... Great sushi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Loved the fresh sushi here. Enjoyed sitting at the counter and making choices as the sushi circled around by us. The sashimi was great. Very reasonably priced. This is the second time I have eaten here and I will return and will recommend to friends and family.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Freefromwisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Try the lion king roll!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

There are so many sushi joints in the San Fran area it's hard to say which to try but I had a great experience in this basement restaurant. Hot green tea was served right away. The nigiri was great. Large sized peices! We had the Aloha and Lion King rolls. Large and tasty! I highly recommend trying the Lion King. It was a flavor sensation. Overall, a good find.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dusty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Boat Restaurant also viewed

San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Sushi Boat Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing