We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entertaining”

Lou's Pier 47 Restaurant
Ranked #422 of 5,693 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Bucyrus, Ohio
Level Contributor
87 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Entertaining”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We enjoyed the street dining for a change. We didn't sit by the bay, we chose to watch the people. Big helpings.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DramJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    176
    86
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great location, right in the centre of the Fishermans Wharf.”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

It helped that it was one of the most wonderful and sunniest days in San Fran and we had a nice table under the sun !

Service: Alicia was very helpful.

Food: ok. Crab salads were very fresh.
Value: not cheap, but absolutely in line with the other restaurants all around there.
Tip: we are Londoners, and did not know that if you buy a soft drink here, you don't pay any extra ones if you ask for a "refill": that's the magic word !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LucaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What You Would Expect”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is what you would expect. High prices because of location and an out dated in need of T L C dining room. You will enjoy the views. But the food is nothing to write home about. If there is a prixe fixe then you may find it a good compromise.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SanJosecivilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“After 20+ minutes the waiter never came...”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a drink at the bar while waiting for a table and Brian, the bartender, was Fabulous! However, once we were seated at a table the waiter never came. After 20-30 min. We left!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bing05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OK
Level Contributor
368 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Reall good, fresh fish and chips”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

This was just about the best fish and chips I've tasted. The fish filets were snapper, and must have been very fresh. They were served piping hot, and were delicious. they were so goo that I though I might get something similar a few nights later at Bumba Gump's Shrimp at pier 39. Wrong; I should have gone back to Lou's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pathfinndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lou's Pier 47 Restaurant also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Lou's Pier 47 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing