We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again”
Review of Nick's Lighthouse

Nick's Lighthouse
Ranked #697 of 5,737 Restaurants in San Francisco
Price range: $0 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Takeout
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
New Iberia, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Back Again”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Not sure how many times we have been to Nicks but the chowder and steamed crab is akways fantastic!!! Awesome Fishermans wharft experience

Helpful?
Thank Choctaw57
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    167
    103
    40
    47
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, FL
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I have ever had”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Get the Dungeness crab with the clam chowder in the sour dough bowl. I consider this some of the best food I have ever had. Went back the next day for more. Price was lower than some of their competitors. I give this my highest recommendation

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank DrCro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Eh. It was fine.”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Well, the menu they display outside is the same as the one for inside seating, except if you buy the food to go, it is less expensive. We had routine lunch, burger, chowder… it was fine - not special. With only a week in San Francisco I kind of hated to waste a meal on anything that was not going to be outstanding, but we were there, it was time to eat and so we did.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LucyPie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband got the dungeness crab and raved about it. I had a salad and crab chowder. Yummy! I was too full from lunch to fully enjoy it. My husband said everything he had was great.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“BIG CHOICE”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Went to Nick's on our first night in San Francisco. very pleasant staff with excellent knowledge of the menu and wines. The restaurant was busy and full and we were not rushed in any way and our waiter was attentive. Food was good and portions were big. I had sole and got 2 x fish. Clam chowder is yummy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lancs888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nick's Lighthouse also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Nick's Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing