We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal & atmosphere”
Review of Sabella & La Torre

Sabella & La Torre
Ranked #325 of 5,741 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: American, Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Description: The freshest and most delicious seafood can always be found at Sabella & La Torre. What started as a crab stand is now everyones favorite seafood restaurant!
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great meal & atmosphere”
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Walking by to grab a shrimp cocktail and was invited in to eat at the bar. Served the calamari and chips from outside with a diet coke and amaretto. They were easy on the diet coke. Cold outside so enjoyed eating at the bar.

Helpful?
Thank Summer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    196
    98
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Ate there two nights. The first night we had mussels and prawn cocktail and clam chowder. The mussels were very good and the cocktail sauce was amazing. The clam chowder was good, but not the best I've ever had. A little bland. The second night we again ordered the prawn cocktail and it was again very good. But then we ordered the Seafood Express which was supposed to be sauteed crab legs, prawns, and scallops. The crab was very hard to find in it. The flavor was sort of blah. The shrimp salad was not exciting. Atmosphere was loud, though service was good. I'd say this is a place for an appetizer, but maybe not for dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ardeasnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best crab ever.”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

It was great to visit Sabella again after so many years. This is my favorite place for eating crab and their crab cakes are just absolutely fantastic. Do not leave San francisco without visiting Sabellas at the fisherman's wharf.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NOAOranjestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zapopan, Jalisco, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing extraordinary!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I've visited this place 20 years ago, and my remember of this Restaurant was great. But The only thing that we can really ave a very good taste was the clam chowder in the bread bowl. After that we tried the Caesar salad with shrimps, but the shrimps were still frozen. The taste of the salad was just ok. Plates are served in vast proportions. The service was excellent. The place was clean and comfortable. My kids ordered burgers with good taste, no issues.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mauricioc231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“in and out as quick as they can manage”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

poor...poor...poor experience.
Our first sea food experience, and wish we hadn't.
Poor service, dirty conditions, rushed in, fed and rushed out by the staff.
If you dont like sea food like me, very limited choice..had some chicken which was dry tasteless and smelt like fish..think it was cooked in the sasnme pan as the fish.
Poor service, but they expect a $10 tip per person..complained re this.
Sea food was ok according to the rest of the group, but nothing special.
Over priced drinks, over priced food for what it was.
Toilets where dirty, smelled and unclean.
A very poor experince.
The staff rushed you, we were still eating our stater when the main coursr arrived, and just left on the tablr, we had to pile our plates up to make room.
Got the impression, they just wanted to get as mant people in as quicklly as possible in order to make a quick dollar.
very very very poor experince

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taff1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sabella & La Torre also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Sabella & La Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing