We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what I needed to start my mornings!”
Review of H Cafe

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
H Cafe
Ranked #2,770 of 5,665 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: American
Neighborhood: The Castro
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: The Castro
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just what I needed to start my mornings!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I was staying at the Hotel Carlton down the street, and found this a charming little place to grab a wonderful breakfast bagel sandwich - -thick with ham -- and get a very tasty cup of coffee before trudging off to my business meetings. I came back every morning after I found them my second day in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maremel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
114 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great coffee, delicious tea and cinnamon buns”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A nice little café near Union Square, very good tea (with a lot of choices), excellent coffee and overall, nice breakfast.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chaperon-rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great coffee and bagels”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

One of only a few little cafés where we got porcelain cups and great coffee! We went there nearly every day to have a nice breakfast.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Engbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“If you're going to San Francisco... be sure to go to Cup A Joe”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

As in most cities there is no shortage of places to fill your face and quench your thirst but this place and the people in it made me smile. Great coffee and excellent cakes and sandwiches, plus wait for it craft beers as well. The staff were welcoming and made us feel like locals after 5 minutes. Situated on a busy Sutter Street which was footsteps from my hotel, it was my favourite place in SFO.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elgar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We spent a couple of evenings here on a week holiday from England. Guy behind the counter was friendly and had lived in England. Nice vibe. The 3pm till 10pm happy hour with Anchor Steam for less than $2 was a bonus. Try you won't be disappointed. As with the previous reviewer, I visited the one in the tenderloin area

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morecambians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed H Cafe also viewed

 

Been to H Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing