We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Irish Coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buena Vista Cafe

Buena Vista Cafe
2765 Hyde Street (at the Beach), Fisherman's Wharf, San Francisco, CA 94109-1222 (Fisherman’s Wharf)
(415)-474-5044
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 5,307 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Drinks, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Irish Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The bartenders are fun to watch and very attentive. I thoroughly enjoyed my Irish coffee and the atmosphere. The place was packed and the crowd had high energy, friendly and fun.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meldesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hyannis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Irish coffee galore!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Wow, if there was one place to have an irish coffee, and I mean one place, this is it! The bartender who we spoke to has been there for 20 years and is an expert at the irish coffee! They are delicious and a good value. We didn't eat here, and not sure we would... but the coffees are a must if you are at Fisherman's Wharf.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mamenard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
265 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bustling Buena Vista”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I stop by the Buena Vista on every visit to San Francisco and it does not disappoint! I always order the iconic Irish Coffee and it is the best I have ever had. I have not eaten a meal at this restaurant, but I go for the atmosphere. Tables are shared, which encourages conversation with other patrons, often other visitors.

It is located between Fisherman's Wharf and Ghirardelli Square.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PRSRJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A Must Visit When In San Francisco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stop in here on every visit to San Francisco. We just love it. Right at the end of the Hyde Cable Car route and right on the bay. A window to the world. The Irish Coffee is a must and for us the eggs benedict are also a must early in the morning. The staff is always happy and helpful. Yes it is crowded and often standing room only in the evening (but that is what makes it fun!) but we really love the morning. Don't miss this San Francisco tradition.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HEH352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We were trying to get to another popular restaurant which was closed when we found Buena Vista. It was so busy, but we quickly found a table and enjoyed a marvellous lunch. Great atmosphere, history and food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buena Vista Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Buena Vista Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing