We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Coffee & Corned Beef Hash!”
Review of Buena Vista Cafe

Buena Vista Cafe
Ranked #48 of 5,738 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Irish Coffee & Corned Beef Hash!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

When you visit San Francisco, it's mandatory to stop in at Buena Vista Cafe for an Irish coffee (or two!). Our most recent visit was no exception. We were a group of 8 and initially sat at the bar for Irish coffee and when a table for 8 opened up, we moved there to order breakfast. I love corned beef hash and it was perfect! This is a busy, happening place and we started off our day with a smile!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cattailcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,017
    611
    185
    47
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

A great breakfast and a great Irish coffee. What more can one want. The crab specialties are the best . The Omlets are also quite good, especially the bacon and cheese.

Helpful?
Thank BobD686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“surprisingly good breakfast”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Saw this on a travel/food show and had to add it to my itinerary. Irish coffee was very good, a little sweet for my taste but they use Tullamore Dew and a nice cream and that made the difference. The breakfast was really good and the corned beef hash was great. Definitely add this to your list of breakfast spots even if you don't like irish coffee. Service was quick and friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathieh724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Local appeal”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

A great bar just up from the Golden Gate end of Fisherman's Wharf; a local crowd and relaxed atmosphere. Stopped in for breakfast (a feast) and an evening drink; the Irish coffee is a must.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank LukeHands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and terrific Irish coffee!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My dear companion and I stopped at the Buena Vista after a nice stroll along the waterfront. I had the spinach and mushroom ravioli. My companion had a chicken caesar salad. Our server was an attentive young gal who took excellent care of us. The food was great. The salads were crisp. The sourdough was tasty. We each had an Irish coffee. The prices at Buena Vista are very reasonable. You will enjoy it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianeTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buena Vista Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Buena Vista Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing