We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it as soon as we stepped in the door”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Buena Vista Cafe

Buena Vista Cafe
Ranked #52 of 5,642 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Cafe, Pub, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Fisherman’s Wharf
Old Chatham, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved it as soon as we stepped in the door”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

What can you say about a place where a bartender is mass-producing outstanding Irish Coffees 6-10 at a time? Thank you is a good place to start. Wonderful atmosphere, great service, fabulous Irish Coffee. The only thing we ate was a crabmeat cocktail, but it was fresh and fabulous. A "must" for all traveling the shoreline of San Franciso, especially if you have just stepped off the Hyde Park line cable car at the end of its line.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TPB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    936
    582
    176
    45
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“If you don't go to the Buena vista - you have missed a San Francisco classic”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Very good breakfast (yes with Irish coffee). Good lunch selections too! The shared tables are fun to meet people from all over. The bartender during the day (most days) has been there for 35 years!
Sometimes at the peak busy hours the service can be slow, but you're in San Francisco - relax and enjoy life.
It's a short walk from the wharf hotels and across from the Hyde St cable car turnaround.
We've been there before and we go back whenever we're in San Francisco.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wanderingbill78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great place to get together with friends.”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

ALways busy! We shared a table with some other local folks adn had brunch with friends. Good breakfast menu, hash & eggs, etc, decent salad. Known for their Ramos Fizz and Irish Coffees.Perfect for locals & tourists, right at the cable car turnaround. Decent prices.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smithgang4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE BEST IRISH COFFEE'S!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This place is a must when your in San Francisco! The food is Great! But the Irish Coffee's are even better, there the best! The location is next to the trolley cars, the view is wonderful. I will all way's stop to have an Irish Coffee here, and a bite to eat. The service is friendly. It is a cozy, fun, warm place. I highly recommend visiting this spot!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ida r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Bar Tender puts on a good Show”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in here for a break while walking around town. We sat down at the bar and were treated to a great show by the bar tender making their trademark irish coffee. We each ordered one and they were very good and very strong. I would recommend a quick stop here if in the area.

Helpful?
Thank rocky6900
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Buena Vista Cafe also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Buena Vista Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing